h1

Just a Side

March 15, 2011

I make this side every year for St. Patrick’s Day.  It’s a great way to serve cabbage, but I don’t limit this dish to once a year.  That’s because it’s a Polish noodle dish that has nothing really to do with St. Patrick’s Day.  It’s the bacon.  Bacon makes everything taste great.

Although the title of this post implies that this is a side dish, it’s more than that.  This can be served as a side but it is also a great main dish too.  Perfect for a potluck or a midweek meal.

I don’t really have a recipe for this one, kind of like my potato pancake recipe.  I more or less throw everything together and step back and enjoy.

Haluski

  • 1 Cabbage, cleaned and sliced thin
  • 1 Onion, cut in half and sliced
  • 1 lb Bacon, diced
  • 1 Bag of Noodles, I use No Yolk Extra Broad (8 oz)
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

In a saute pan, saute the onion in butter or bacon grease for about 5 minutes.  Add the cabbage and continue to saute until wilted.  Set aside.  In a separate pan, saute the diced bacon until crispy.  Cook the noodles as directed.  Combine the bacon and grease to the cabbage mixture.  Add the cooked noodles, a sprinkle of salt and lots of pepper.  Stir to incorporate.  Place the mixture into a 9×13 pan and cook, covered, in a 350 degrees oven for about 30 minutes.

Enjoy!

One comment

  1. […] fry green beans in the grease.  Or how about some pierogi?  Why not some haluski,?  I’m sure I’m not the only one that cooks my hash browns in the grease.  I know I […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!