h1

Potatoes!!

January 25, 2011

I’m continuing to enjoy some comfort food at our house.  The cold weather really makes it easy to do that.

What better comfort food is there than the potato pancake?  It’s versatile too.  You can literally eat it for breakfast, lunch and dinner.  I prefer it for dinner myself, but I do love it for breakfast.  I really love it with sour cream and tomatoes.  Meeshie likes it with syrup and my husband likes it with syrup or sour cream.

The only issue I have with sharing this recipe with you is that I really don’t have a recipe for potato pancakes.  I just throw things into the bowl and know I have the right consistency by looking at it.  I don’t really measure too much out. 

But I’m going to try my best to share this.  It’s worth it.

Potato Pancakes

  • 1/2 lb Bacon, diced
  • 3-4 Large Potatoes, scrubbed clean
  • 1 Large Onion
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1/2-3/4 C Flour
  • Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • Vegetable Oil for frying

In a large skillet, fry the diced bacon until almost crispy.  While the bacon is frying, shred the potatoes and onion in a large bowl.  Add the bacon and about half of the grease to the potato/onion mixture.    The more grease you add, the more flour you’ll need to add.  Add the eggs, salt, pepper and flour.  Using your hands or a large spoon, mix the potato/onion batter.  It should clump together, but not be too watery.  You want it thick, like pancake batter, just not too thick.

Heat up the oil in a large skillet, I use the same one I had the bacon in.  Put enough oil in the pan to allow them to fry.  I use a large soup ladle to spoon into the hot skillet.  Cook for about 8 minutes a side, or until golden brown.  Try not to overcrowd the pan, otherwise you’ll have to adjust your cooking time.  

Transfer to a cookie sheet lined with paper towel to drain.  You can transfer the pancakes to another cookie sheet and place in a warm oven until you are done cooking all the pancakes.

Serve with sour cream, sliced tomatoes, apple sauce, powdered sugar, or syrup.

You can eat them as a side or as an entrée.

This recipe makes about 12-16 large pancakes.

4 comments

  1. I love potato pancakes! I fry mine in peanut oil, because you can heat it to a very high temperature and it doesn’t burn…crispy, crunchy pancakes every time!


    • Kathy-
      I usually use vegetable oil, but I’m going to try peanut oil next time. Thanks!
      Karen


  2. […] don’t really have a recipe for this one, kind of like my potato pancake recipe.  I more or less throw everything together and step back and […]


  3. […] never met me?  Well they came over and I made the perfect meal for a man straight from Ireland:  potato pancakes, pierogi,  and […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

