h1

Fall Treat!

September 30, 2013

caramel corn

Fall

I know I’ve established my family’s love of Garrett’s popcorn.  It’s that love of caramel corn that caused me to dig up an old recipe.  I remember making caramel corn with my mom.  I also remember how quickly my brothers would swoop in and eat all that confectionary goodness.

For some reason I associate caramel corn with the fall.  Maybe it’s the warm color of the caramel.  Nothing says fall more than that golden brown color.  Plus the smell of it roasting in the oven is heavenly.  Just the memory of that wonderful smell brings a smile to my face as I type.

 This is a perfect after school snack.  Again, hello fall!  Make it fun and put it in a little brown bag and tuck it into a lunch box.  This fresh and simple recipe won’t last long.  A perfect treat to enjoy that can be tailored to you.

I pop my corn on the stove.  It’s just as easy as the microwave kind, without that after taste.  But you use whatever popcorn you prefer.

Mix it up and add sea salt before the last toss.  Or spice it up with nutmeg and cinnamon.  And, of course, you can also add some nuts like almonds or cashews.

 caramel corn viCaramel Popcorn

  • 4 quarts popped popcorn (1/2 C unpopped)
  • 2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 C Corn Syrup
  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1 t Vanilla

 Add popcorn to large shallow roasting pan and place in preheated 250°F oven while preparing caramel.  Mix brown sugar, corn syrup, butter and salt in a heavy 2-quart saucepan. Stirring constantly, bring to a boil over medium heat.  Boil 5 minutes WITHOUT STIRRING. Remove from heat. Stir in baking soda and vanilla. Pour syrup mixture over warm popcorn, stirring to coat evenly. Bake for 45 minutes, stirring every 15 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool completely before breaking into pieces. Store inn tightly covered container.

2 comments

  1. I wish I had had your recipe for the kids and their friends this past Friday. I’m sure it would have been a hit with the boys! I think I would add in some pecans…they always sound so good with caramel corn. This is a great fall recipe! Thanks, Karen!


    • Allison-
      It’s never too late for caramel corn. And I agree pecans would be heavenly. I wonder if you made spiced pecans if it would be good or too much?
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!