h1

Oatmeal Toffee Bars

August 19, 2010

Monday is Meeshie’s first day of school.  That means packing lunches and snacks.

I found the perfect recipe for just that.  It’s chewy and sweet, which she loves.  It has oatmeal, so it has to be healthy (right?), which I love. 

Plus I love toffee bars.  They are just so yummy.

It’s a bar so it’s simple.  Oh and it freezes well.

So all in all it’s a winner.

Oatmeal Toffee Bars

  • 1 cup Butter, Softened
  • 1 cup Light Brown Sugar, Packed
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 teaspoon Vanilla Extract
  • 1-½ cup All-purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • ½ teaspoons Ground Cinnamon
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • 1-⅓ cup Heath Bits O’ Brickle Toffee Bits (or Health English Milk Chocolate Toffee Bits), Divided
  • 3 cups Quick-cooking Or Regular Rolled Oats
  • Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease 13×9 baking pan.

    Beat butter and brown sugar in large bowl until well blended. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well.  Stir together flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Gradually add to the butter mixture, beating until blended. Set aside 1/4 cup toffee bits. Stir remaining toffee bits and oats into the batter (batter will be stiff). Spread batter into prepared pan; sprinkle reserved 1/4 cup toffee bits over the surface.   Bake for 20-25 minutes or until wooden pick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool completely in the pan on a wire rack. Cut into bars or squares. Makes about 36 bars.

    Note: I actually baked it for 20 minutes because I like my bakery chewy.   I also used milk chocolate toffee bits.

    Here’s the original.

    2 comments

    1. OMGosh! I just made these 2 days ago! Hahaha! Yours look a little different than mine. Did you add chocolate? One child decided they loved them…one child decided they liked my regular oatmeal bars better…and the other said it didn’t really matter.


      • Oh My! Kathy I think I used the milk chocolate toffee bits!! I didn’t even realize it until you mentioned it. I just grabbed what they had at the store. I made mine on Sunday and stuck 3/4 of them in the freezer.



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

