h1

Blueberry Raspberry Coffee Cake

June 15, 2010

I made this cake this morning and brought it to work.  It was still warm and let me tell you this cake tastes awesome when it is still warm.  It is so good warm but it is just as good room temperature. 

I also made it a few weeks ago for breakfast and used blackberries instead of the raspberries.  It was good too, but I think I like the raspberries best.  Maybe it’s the color contrast.  Maybe it’s the tart with the sweet. 

I used to make this cake for my dad.  The funny thing is he hated blueberry.  He thought all blueberries taste like dirt.  He would always say that whenever someone talked about blueberries.  Oh those things, they taste like dirt.  As passionately as he hated blueberries, he loved raspberries.  We used to have a raspberry bush in our yard when I was a girl.  I remember standing out in the yard in my nightgown and picking them to add to our cereal.  I’m not sure what happened to that bush.   But I do miss those fresh raspberries.

Any way somehow my dad approved of this cake and really enjoyed it.  Since Meeshie asked me to buy raspberries last week and since we still have a gross of blueberries in the freezer from last July, I made this cake.

Blueberry Raspberry Coffee Cake

  • FOR THE CAKE:
  • 3 cups Flour
  • 2 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • ½ teaspoons Salt
  • ½ cups Butter, Softened
  • 1-½ cup Sugar
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 cup Sour Cream
  • 1 cup Blueberries
  • 1 cup Raspberries
  • _____
  • FOR THE TOPPING:
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • ⅔ cups Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Cinnamon
  • ½ cups Butter

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 9×13 pan.

Combine the flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. Cream the butter in a large bowl until light, add the sugar and beat until light and fluffy. Mix the eggs in one at a time. Mix in the dry ingredients into the creamed mixture, alternating with the sour cream, beginning and ending with the dry ingredients. Combine the berries in a small bowl. Spread half of the batter into the prepared pan, spoon the berries over the batter and top with the remaining batter.

For the topping, combine the sugar, flour, and cinnamon in a medium bowl. Add the butter and cut it into the dry mixture until the mixture is crumbly. Sprinkle the topping over the cake.

Bake for an hour or until a tester comes out clean.

7 comments

  1. Yummy! Just found your recipe on TK for this cake – going to make it asap! 🙂


  2. […] the top of the list is one of my favorite coffee cakes.  It’s a blueberry raspberry coffee cake, but don’t be fooled.  I’ve made it with blackberries, too.  This cake is moist and […]


  3. Mmmm…looks good. I want to make this cake for my boyfriends birthday, but I was reading the ingredients and the sour cream made me think twice? Why sour cream?


    • The sour cream makes the cake super moist. Trust me.

      Karen


  4. My 12 year old son made this today and it is spectacular. Perfect hard streusel crust, gorgeous and delicious. We will be making it again. The only thing he changed was using all raspberries since we didn’t have blueberries.


    • Lz
      So glad you enjoyed it and so jealous your son made it for you. If only my daughter was as motivated.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!