h1

Wilted Salad

July 11, 2011

We are big fans of bacon.  We love it as it is.  We love it as a side.  We love it baked into things.  As a result, we always have bacon grease on hand.  I know that sounds strange, but really it isn’t.  I keep the grease in the fridge and use it to fry things in. 

I fry green beans in the grease.  Or how about some pierogi?  Why not some haluski,?  I’m sure I’m not the only one that cooks my hash browns in the grease.  I know I use the bacon grease for more than that, but right now I’m at a loss.  The flavor from the grease makes everything better.

I came across a great recipe last week that reminded me of spinach salad when I was a girl.  My mother made it a few times and you add the bacon grease to it to wilt the spinach. 

Someone at work was talking about how they always had wilted salad when they were young.  I knew that I had to make it.  It seemed that since the recipe looked so good, I had the ingredients and someone I knew talked about it, it needed to be made. 

I made this wonderful salad to accompany some awesome grilled italian sausage.  My chive is starting to really come in nicely so I also added some that.  I love fresh chives.

I’m not using any amounts with this recipe, but I can tell you that I made enough for my husband to have two helpings.  I used the end of one head of romaine and a small portion of a new one.

Wilted Salad

  • Romaine Lettuce, washed and coarsely chopped
  • Green Onion, chopped
  • Chive, chopped
  • Course Sea Salt and Pepper, to taste
  • Bacon Grease

Make sure the lettuce is dry, and add the lettuce, onion, chive, salt and pepper to a large bowl.  Heat the bacon grease  and pour over the lettuce.  You just want enough grease to coat the lettuce.  You really don’t want the lettuce to be swimming in the grease.  Toss and serve.

This salad is so simple and easy.  The flavor of the salt and the grease pair well with the lettuce.  Meeshie really loved this salad. 

Thanks Sheila for showing me this one and reminding me why I love summer cooking!

2 comments

  1. This sounds wonderful. I’ve always loved bacon, but never thought I could keep the grease for other things. What a great way to add some flavor to a different dish. I’m going to have to give this a try!


  2. Looks beautiful! And you did it the way my folks do it. They tear the lettuce up into pieces then pour the hot oil on it. I didn’t do that when I made mine but I should have. It sounds wonderful with the grilled Italian sausages! 🙂 You’re making me want to make another batch. I just wish I had some bacon to go with it! 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

