h1

Something Expected

March 13, 2011

Every year, around St. Patrick’s Day, I make corned beef and invite my mom and my husband’s dad over for dinner.  They both are by themselves and I know that it’s not something they would make.  For a number of years, my friend Cathy has been kind enough to give me homemade irish soda bread.  My sweet Greek friend makes the best soda bread! 

I remember as a girl my mother boiling corned beef, this recipe is a far cry from that.  I made this on Friday for Saturday’s dinner.  I came home to the most wonderful smell in the kitchen.  It almost made me cry knowing I couldn’t even sample anything.  But it was totally worth the wait the next day. 

Corned Beef

  • 1-4lb Corned Beef Brisket
  • 1 t Garlic
  • 1 medium Onion, sliced
  • 4 Carrots, peeled and cut into 2 inch chunks
  • 3 Celery stalks, cut into 2 inch chunks
  • 4 medium Red Potatoes
  • 1-12 oz bottle of Beer
  • 1/2 C water
  • 2 Bay leaves
  • 1/4 t Rosemary
  • 1/4 t Thyme

Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.  Remove the brisket from the packaging and rinse.  Place the potatoes, celery, and carrots on the bottom of a deep 9×13 roasting pan.  Place the brisket, fat side down, on top of the veggies and place the onion on top of the brisket.  Sprinkle the garlic, rosemary and thyme on top of the brisket.  Add the beer, water and bay leaf.  Cover the pan with foil to form a good seal.  Bake for 3-4 hours, until fork tender. 

Remove from the oven.  Remove the brisket from the pan and refrigerate the pan and brisket over night.  Remove the visible fat from the brisket and juice and thinly slice the meat across the grain.  Return the sliced meat to the veggie mixture/juices and reheat covered until warmed through about 30-40 minutes.

Serve with mustard and horseradish, as well as your favorite rye bread, irish soda bread and cabbage. 

I have a great cabbage dish that I’ll be sharing later this week.  Think cabbage and bacon and noodles.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

