h1

Civil War Mac and Cheese Revisted

September 10, 2012

I’m revisiting some of the best mac and cheese I’ve ever had.  This is my go to recipe.  I love that it’s unique.  I also love that depending on what you boil the  noodles in, this dish can be a one pot casserole.  I say that because I’ve been making it in a wonderful deep skillet that I picked up on vacation this past summer.  It’s a Le Creuset 12″ cast iron skillet.  (Thank you outlet mall.) It’s perfect for a one pot casserole.

The other reason I love this recipe is that it’s simple.  Most everything you need is already in the house, well it’s in mine anyway.  It’s a fairly quick recipe that reheats well, if you have any leftover.  It can be made with cheddar, the sharper the better, but you can also make it with Gruyère, or a combination of both.  I’ve also made it with cheddar and gouda.  I like gouda because it melts so well.

I’ve also made this with shells instead of elbow maccaroni.  Or better yet, I’ve also made it with wagon wheel pasta.  Who doesn’t like wagon wheel pasta?  It’s the perfect complement to melted cheese.  Crumple up some crushed Cheese-Its on the pasta instead of breadcrumbs.  This is perfect for this time of year.  Make it as a side, or just enjoy it as a main dish.

Civil War Mac and Cheese

  • 4 C Milk
  • 2 C Elbow Macaroni
  • 2 C- 3C, packed, grated cheddar cheese
  • Freshly Ground Black Pepper, to taste
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg
  • 1/4 C Cheese-Its, crushed
  • Salt, for the macaroni

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.  Heat the milk and salt in a large saucepan until steamy. Stir in the dry macaroni and let the milk come to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer.  Pay attention while the macaroni is cooking in the milk as the milk may foam up and boil over.  Cook the macaroni for about 15 minutes or until done, the macaroni will absorb most of the milk.  Make sure that there is still milk left in the pan.   As soon as the macaroni is done, add the grated cheese, pepper and nutmeg and stir.  Sprinkle with Cheese-Its and bake for 20 minutes or until top is lightly browned.

Here’s my original post.  As you can see, I’ve stop using the butter because I leave enough milk in the pot to help melt the cheese.

2 comments

  1. Going to pick up the ingredients for this tonite. We love gouda and w/ the sharp cheddar it sounds great! Will let you know how it turns out! Carol


    • Carol-
      Hope you enjoy it as much as we do!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

