h1

Something to Warm You Up

December 7, 2010

Do you remember those salted caramel chocolate squares I made?

My friend Carol told me how wonderful the Starbucks Salted Caramel Hot Chocolate is after that post.  Unfortunately, I’m not a big Starbucks fan.  I think there stuff is overpriced and not that tasty.  Please don’t hate me.  I’m more of a Dunkin’ Donuts fan and they don’t have something like that on the menu.

I was so excited by the hot cocoa that Carol talked about that I decided to make it at home.  I’m not sure if it’s the same as Starbucks but I don’t care.  This is a very tasty cocoa.

Salted Caramel Hot Cocoa

  • 2 T Cocoa, rounded
  • 1/2 C Half and Half
  • 1/2 C Milk
  • 1 t Vanilla Extract
  • Whipped Cream
  • 1/8 t Course Sea Salt
  • 4 T Caramel Sauce, heated and divided

Heat the half and half and milk to scald it.  You can adjust the amount of half and half and milk to your taste.  I usually but in more half and half than milk to give the cocoa a richer taste. Add the cocoa and vanilla.  Whisk well.  Turn off heat.  Sprinkle a pinch of salt in 2 T of Caramel.  Swirl and line the inside of the cup with the salted caramel.  Pour the hot cocoa in the cup.  Top with whipped cream, additional caramel sauce and the remaining salt.

Sit back and enjoy.

This makes one serving.

8 comments

  1. Ummm Yummm! That just looks so delicious and comforting 🙂


  2. I’m making the Salted Caramel Chocolate Bars again this week for work on Friday…they are so yummy! This looks tasty too!


    • Kathy-
      I just made the bars too! I love them. I’m actually thinking of using the leftover butterscotch cream sauce I made for my pumpkin butter pie as the caramel layer!

      I’m sure it’s as cold by you as it’s been by me and hot cocoa really hits the spot.
      Karen


  3. Karen,

    I just love reading your blog. It makes my day and I enjoy trying your new recipes, too! Enjoy your holidays.

    Lisa


    • Lisa-
      Thank you for your kind words!
      Merry Christmas.
      Karen


  4. Karen,
    I know your recipe is better than Starbucks!
    I will have to try it soon.
    Take care,
    Carol



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!