h1

B is for Bacon

March 31, 2011

I made bacon buns the other day.  Have you ever had the pleasure?  They are exactly as they sound, buns made with bacon (and ham too).  Where I lived as a girl you could get them in almost any bakery, but you needed to get them early because they sold out quickly.  My mother would make them, sometimes, and they never lasted in our house. 

When I mention bacon buns now, everyone I talk to has never heard of them.  I  guess it’s a south side thing and even though I’m still in the same state I grew up in, sometimes it’s like being on another planet.

The beauty of these buns are their versatility.  You can have them along side a salad, or soup.  You can eat them instead of a sandwich.  The sweet dough and salty middle come together so well, you can’t eat just one.

If you have leftover, these freeze well.

Bacon Buns

  • 1 lb Bacon, chopped
  • 1 Onion, diced
  • 1 lb Ham, diced
  • 2 C Milk
  • 1 C Butter
  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1-1/4 oz package of dry yeast (or 2 1/4 t)
  • 6 Eggs
  • 6-8 C Flour

For the filling: fry the bacon until crisp and drain the fat.  Add the onion and ham, saute for five minutes until the onion is tender.  Cool the mixture thoroughly.  This can be made ahead and frozen.

Dough:  Melt the butter in a sauce pan and add the milk until scalded.  Add the sugar and the salt and let cool.  Dissolve the yeast in 1/2 C of the liquid for about 5 minutes.  Beat 5 eggs slightly and add the remaining milk mixture to the eggs.  Blend and add the yeast mixture to the egg mixture.  Add 5 C of flour to the egg mixture.  Slowly add additional flour until the dough starts to come away from the bowl.  You may not use all of the flour.  It will still be sticky.  Knead the dough for about 8 minutes.  Place the dough in a greased bowl and let it rise until double its size.  Punch down the dough and let it rise again.

Generously flour the counter and roll out the dough to about 1/8 inch thickness.  Use a 4-inch round cutter to cut the dough.  I used the same glass I use for pierogi.  Place a spoonful of cooled filling in the center of the dough, pinch all the corners together sealing tightly.  Place the bun, seal side down, on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  Let rise one more time, about 30 minutes.

Beat the last egg and brush over the tops of the buns.  Bake for 15 minutes in a preheated 350 degree oven.

Makes 3 1/2 dozen buns.

6 comments

  1. Wow! I’ve never heard of these before, but how can you go wrong with bacon and bread. They look wonderful.


    • Nicole-
      I think they may be a regional thing. I grew up in a south suburb of Chicago, so close to the city that I could be there within 5 minutes. There are tons of Polish, Croatian, Czech, along with Italians and Irish in that area. These are in bakeries everywhere in that area. I’ve moved to a sleepy little area that’s about an hour farther south and no one’s ever heard of them. I’m not sure of their origin, but I’m thinking maybe Croatian. I hope you get a chance to enjoy them, they are delightful!!
      Karen


      • I remember my dad getting these for us when I was a child. He got them from the Lithuanian bakery in Marquette Park. I love these!


      • Cathy-
        I bet the boys would love these too!
        Karen


  2. Karen, I remember getting these from a Lithuanian bakery just west of Western Ave too! I’ve got to try these or maybe come over and watch you make them first!


    • Carol-
      You can do it! They are so easy to make. Ask around, no one from around here knows what I’m talking about.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

