h1

C is for Candy Canes

December 9, 2010

I love this time of year.

It allows me to spend a lot of time baking.  I love to bake.  I especially love to bake Christmas cookies.

Last Sunday I made six different cookies and I’m not done.  Meeshie loves to help me and I remember helping my mom when I was younger.

I give the cookies out as gifts.  I bring some to work.  I give some to my husband to bring to his work.  I bring some to my mom’s on Christmas Eve.

These candy cane cookies are one of the batches I made.  They are so yummy.  They actually remind me of butter mints.  I love butter mints.

Candy Cane Cookies

  • 1 C Butter, softened
  • 1 C Powdered Sugar, sifted
  • 1 t Vanilla Extract
  • 1/2 t Peppermint Extract
  • 2 C (a little less) Flour, sifted
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1/2 C Crushed Candy Canes (for the white dough*)
  • Red Food Coloring (for the red dough*)
  • For the Topping
  • 1/2 C Powdered Sugar
  • 1/2 C Crushed Candy Canes

*I make the recipe twice adding the food coloring to one batch and the crushed candy cane to the other.

Cream the butter, sugar, and extracts until light.  Stir in the flour, crushed candy canes (for the white dough) and salt; and the flour, salt and food coloring for the red dough.  Wrap up the dough and let chill for at least an hour.

Line your cookie sheets with parchment paper.

When ready to assemble the cookies take some of the white dough and roll it out into a snake.  Do the same thing with the red dough.  Twist the two doughs together and curve them to the shape of a candy cane. 

Mix the powdered sugar and crushed candy cane together in a bowl.  Sprinkle sugar mixture on top of the cookies.  Bake in a 350 degree oven for 8-10 minutes.

Enjoy.

When doubling the recipe, this makes about 3 1/2 dozen large cookies.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

