h1

My New Favorite Soup

December 5, 2010

I saw an episode of the Best Thing I Ever Ate where they talked about garlic soup.

I had to try it.  I looked around for a recipe and came up with this soup.

I know I’ve told you how much I love soup before, but this is my all time favorite soup.  I could actually just stand over the pot and eat over the stove.

It’s creamy and flavorful.  The prep time is a little longer than most soups because of the garlic, but trust me it’s so worth it.  I could eat this soup once a week and not get tired of it.

I wish that you could stand in my kitchen and enjoy the wonderful smell of this soup right now.

Garlic Soup

  • 2 T Olive Oil
  • 2 T Butter
  • 2 lbs (about 4) Onions, sliced and quartered
  • 4 Large Heads of Garlic, chopped
  • 2 quarts Chicken Broth
  • 1/2 Loaf of day-old French Bread, cubed
  • 1 Bouqet Garni: 6 Parsley Stems and 9 Sprigs of Fresh Thyme tied together with a string or 1 1/2 t dried thyme and 1 bay leaf in cheese cloth
  • 1 1/2 t Truffle Salt
  • 2 C Half and Half
  • Pepper to taste

In a large pot, heat the oil and butter over low heat.  Add the onions and garlic.  Cover and cook, stirring occasionally, until very soft and beginning to turn golden, about 30-40 minutes.  Raise the heat and continue to cook the onion/garlic mixture uncovered, stirring frequently, until deep golden, about 10-15 minutes longer.  Add the broth, bread, bouquet garni, salt and pepper.  Bring to a boil.  Reduce the heat and simmer for about 15 minutes.  Remove the bouquet garni and puree the soup in a blender.  Strain the soup and put back in the pot.  Add the half and half and bring back to a boil. 

You can serve with croutons and your favorite bread.

Or you could just stand over your stove like I did until my husband caught me.

Serves 6.

3 comments

  1. I made this on my snow day and it made the house smell fantastic! It was so yummy! All but one family member liked it so I consider that a hit. My 10 year old even had a second helping. Not sure why the high schooler who eats anything and lots of it wasn’t a fan. This was delicious!


    • Cathy-
      I’m so glad it was a hit, and you’re right perfect soup for a snow day.
      Karen


  2. […] is a simple potato soup that marries garlic and potato.  And although I love the garlic soup, this one is a great one too.  It’s actually a little heartier because of the potatoes, […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

