h1

French Toast Strata

September 16, 2010

Before I was married I discovered this recipe. 

It brings together two of my favorite things.  French toast and make a head casseroles. 

I made it the night before my wedding to serve to the bridal party.  I’ve made it for Easter.  I’ve brought it to friend’s houses.  I’ve brought it to work.  I’ve changed it throughout the years to make it better.  I’ve added fruit and I’ve taken fruit away.

The great thing about this recipe is that you make it however you like.  It’s very versatile. 

You can use whatever bread you like, but good cinnamon or raisin bread works the best.  I’ve actually even made this with leftover cinnamon rolls. 

French Toast Strata

  • 8 slices Bread, Cinnamon Or Raisin
  • ½ C Raisins, Optional
  • 8 ounces, weight Cream Cheese, softened
  • 3 whole Eggs
  • 1-½ C Half-and-half
  • ½ C Maple Syrup
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 1 t Cinnamon
  • ¼ t Nutmeg
  • Topping:
  • 2 T Sugar
  • 1 t Cinnamon
  • Cut the bread into 3/4 inch cubes. Spray an 11×7 dish with cooking spray. Place the bread in the prepared dish. Sprinkle the raisins on top of the bread.

    Cream the cream cheese and add the eggs one at a time. Add the half and half, syrup, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg. Pour this mixture over the bread.

    Mix the sugar and cinnamon together and sprinkle on top of the bread mixture. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours or overnight.

    Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and bake for 45-50 minutes until firm.

    Sprinkle with powdered sugar and serve with syrup, if desired.

    I actually love to make this dish with bread from this site.  If I use the raisin bread, I don’t add the raisins.  I’ve also added apple pie filling.  Like I keep saying, the possibilities for this recipe are endless. 

    This makes about 8 generous servings.

    One comment

    1. […] also hoping to share a great greek dessert and a variation on french toast strata.  No ham on the menu this year, but I am dry aging a roast.  […]



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!