h1

Cinnamon Raisin Biscuits

September 19, 2010

I made these for breakfast yesterday.  I was looking for something easy and quick, plus I was in the mood for raisins.

The recipe reminded my of the very berry scones I make.  They are lighter than scones though.  I added some nutmeg to the icing to give it added flavor.

Meeshie loves it when I have to use a rolling-pin.  She can’t get her apron on fast enough to help me.

Cinnamon Raisin Biscuits 

  • 2 C All-purpose Flour
  • 3 t Baking Powder
  • 2 T Sugar
  • 1-½ t Ground Cinnamon
  • ½ t Salt
  • ½ C Shortening
  • ⅔ C Milk
  • ½ C Raisins
  • _____
  • FOR THE ICING:
  • 1 C Confectioner’s Sugar
  • 5 t Milk
  • ¾ t Vanilla Extract or Almond Extract
  • A pinch of Nutmeg
  • In a large bowl combine flour, baking powder, sugar, cinnamon and salt. Cut in shortening till you have a crumbly appearance. Stir in milk and raisins and mix until just combined.  (I used my hands.)

    Turn dough onto floured surface and knead about 2 minutes. Using a floured rolling-pin, roll to 1/2 inch thickness. Cut with a floured 2 inch biscuit cutter.

    Place on an ungreased baking sheet in a preheated 450F oven for 12- 15 minutes or until golden.

    While the biscuits are in the oven, mix the icing ingredients in a small bowl until well combined. Drizzle biscuits with icing and enjoy.

    Makes 2 dozen biscuits.

    Here’s the original recipe.

    This one will be so easy to make during the week.

    5 comments

    1. Karen,

      Would these turn out if I skipped the raisins? We don’t care for them, but we love bisquits…must be their dad’s Southern blood!


      • Kathy-
        I’m sure they would turn out without the raisins, but were you planning to omit them or put something in their place? If you omit them I’m thinking you may not want to make the glaze either. That way they are just a sweet biscuit. If you substitute something else, like chocolate chips, toffee chips or another dried fruit then I would do the glaze.
        Karen


    2. I don’t think I’d put something in there place. I’d do some with glaze and some without.


    3. Hi Karen,

      I made your sweet and sour chicken this weekend. Just delicious! Thank you.

      Lisa


      • Lisa-
        I’m so glad that you liked it!
        Karen



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

