h1

Heavenly Tomatoes

April 17, 2011

I’m getting ready for brunch next Sunday. 

I love brunch  and I really love it on Easter.  I’ve set my menu and I’m just trying to get everything ready for next week.  Brunch is ideal because you can make some things in advance and just reheat them.  Like muffins.  I made some great ones last week and if they last, I’ll serve them, but they don’t I’ll still have plenty to offer.  Another reason to love brunch, the variety.

Today I made some wonderful oven roasted tomatoes that I’ll be adding to a great panzanella.  My friend Cathy gave the recipe to me and I’m so excited to make it. Panzenella is a bread salad.  Have you ever had one?  They are so good.  I’m hoping to share it with you later in the week.

I’m also hoping to share a great greek dessert and a variation on french toast strata.  No ham on the menu this year, but I am dry aging a roast.  Yum!

Oh, on a totally different vein, I bought a dozen mangos.  Any good recipes?

I found this recipe for oven roasted tomatoes last summer.  It’s a great way to use up those cherry tomatoes from your garden.  They are also great with the store-bought too.  We use these on hamburgers, chicken sandwiches, salad or just as a snack.  The flavor and texture of the tomatoes are superb and the process is so simple. 

Oven Roasted Cherry Tomatoes

  • ¼ teaspoons Shallot Salt
  • 1 clove Garlic
  • ½ teaspoons Fresh Thyme (Leaves Only)
  • ½ teaspoons Chopped Fresh Chives
  • 1 teaspoon Chopped Fresh Basil
  • ¼ cups Olive Oil
  • 1 pound Cherry Or Grape Tomatoes

Preheat oven to 250 degrees.

Line a jelly roll pan or cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In a food processor, combine salt, garlic, and fresh herbs. Crush to a coarse paste.  Stir in the olive oil and set aside.

Cut tomatoes in half and lay cut side up on the prepared pan. With a pastry brush, lightly brush the cut side of each tomato with the oil. Reserve the remaining oil.

Bake for 2-3 hours.

When cool, place in an airtight container and drizzle with the remaining olive oil and store in the refrigerator.

5 comments

  1. I’m really not much of a cook but I do so love tomatoes. I’m definitely going to give this a try. I’m also looking forward to your bread salad recipe. Some time ago, I had a salad in a restaurant I’ve wanted to make. It had tomatoes, sweet bell peppers in various colors and cucumbers in an oil and vinegar dressing. My problem is I don’t know what spices to add. Do you think the ones in this recipe would work?


    • Linda-
      The spices in the tomato recipe? I don’t see why not. Why don’t you try the tomato recipe first to see if they come close to the flavors you remember? Good luck!
      Karen


  2. […] 3/4 lb cherry or grape, oven roasted tomatoes […]


  3. Karen, I totally see roasting these tomatoes when we’re paying way too much for them in the grocery store over the winter. They usually have no taste, but using this technique would really turn them into something special. I’m having trouble with growing thyme again this year, but my chives and basil are flourishing (Yay!). You and I seem to have similar tastes for sure!! Have a good Sunday…
    Allison


  4. […] I plant additional halfway through the season.    I thought that since we really enjoy the oven roasted tomatoes, why not try the same method with zucchini?  Why indeed.  These zucchini chips have been eaten so […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

