h1

Another Reason to Use My Panini Press

February 13, 2011

I made these sandwiches with my Panini press and they were so easy.   A Cuban sandwich is a variation of a ham and cheese and was created in Florida.  Miami, I think.

Have you ever had a Cuban sandwich?  I hadn’t but I’ve seen them on menus and on television enough to be interested. I never made one before because I didn’t have anything to press them with.  That was before the Panini press, of course, and now that I do I’m so happy that I did.

Remember the pulled pork I had?  Well I had just enough leftover to make this sandwich.  The combination of the pork, ham, swiss cheese, pickles and mustard is extraordinary.  Really.  Who knew something so simple could be so good?

I must confess that I did add the pickles and mustard at the end of the process, once I took the sandwich off the press.  I’m not a fan of warm pickles and I did like the slight snap of them on the sandwich.

Cuban

  • 4 hoagie rolls  
  • 1/4 lb Deli Ham, thinly sliced
  • 1/4 lb Pulled Pork
  • 4 Slices Swiss Cheese (I used Jarlsberg, but you can use whatever you like)
  • 12 Hamburger pickles
  • Yellow Mustard

Slice the bread horizontally in half and divide the ham, pulled pork and swiss cheese evenly among the slices of roll. 

Heat your Panini maker, line it with parchment paper and place the sandwiches inside, place parchment paper on top and  press down.  Grill until the cheese is melted and the bread is flat and browned, approximately 10 minutes.  Once you remove the sandwiches from the press, add the pickles and mustard.  I know that many of you may shake your heads at this because a true Cuban is totally assembled prior to the pressing, but again I don’t like warm pickles. 

Serve warm with your favorite side.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

