h1

Strawberry Explosion

September 15, 2010

Meeshie loves Strawberry Quick.

She sometimes has it with her breakfast. 

This morning I cam into the kitchen about 5 minutes before we needed to leave to discover Strawberry Quick had exploded all over the floor.  Literally all over my kitchen floor.  In some spots it was in 1/4 inch mounds.  My feet were more than sticking to the floor.  They were shellacked there.

Meeshie had tried to clean up what had spilt on the floor by using up all the paper towels in the kitchen and wetting everyone of them.  Instead of vacuuming up the mess,  she was able to make a pink gluelike substance and spread it all over the kitchen.

I almost started to cry.  Any mom that has to get out the door to be somewhere by a certain time every morning knows that you’ve got your departure timed down to a science and any deviation from that is a catastrophe.

I have a nice size kitchen.  It’s one of the reasons why I love this house so much.  The floor in the kitchen is hardwood.

I don’t own a mop.  I feel the only efficient way to clean a floor is on hands and knees. 

Vader wasn’t interested in licking the floor.  It was probably too much work for him.

I couldn’t leave the mess the way it was all day.  I could get ants.  Plus I just couldn’t leave that mess.

I cleaned the floor as best as I could.

Mom, where are your pants?

We left the house and the floor was still sticky.  But at least it had been downsized to sticky.

I just finished cleaning the floor again when I got home.

I miss the toddler stage.

6 comments

  1. Eek. I’m at a loss for words. That’s an awful feeling when you need to get out the door. Hope tomorrow morning gets you off to a better start.


    • Kathy-
      I hope so too! I hate starting my day on the wrong foot. I never can seem to get my rhythm back.
      Karen


  2. Karen, You should have posted a picture for us to see! 🙂


    • Carol-
      The last thing I was thinking about was taking a picture. It took all I could not to beat her.
      Karen


  3. Karen, I can picture the scene. Getting out the door on time with a child is always hard to do. Any other time Vader would have been licking the floor down to the shine, right?


    • Lisa-
      Totally! That darn dog licks everything in sight. So much so that it gets on our nerves!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

