h1

Bake Away the Day

September 19, 2011

We had a busy weekend.

Meeshie has two tests this week.  One is today for social studies and the other is on Wednesday for science.  She brought the study guides home and I spent much of the weekend drilling her.  I won’t help her with her homework, it’s not mine and I’ve already passed that grade, but I will help her prep for a test.

My mom came over on Saturday with her boyfriend.  She’s been dating him on and off for about a year or so.  I’ve actually invited him over for dinner a few times, but he kept backing out.  Maybe I make him nervous, except how can that be if he’s never met me?  Well they came over and I made the perfect meal for a man straight from Ireland:  potato pancakes, pierogi,  and kolaczky.

I also made two great breads that I plan to share with you later this week.  One is sweet and one is savory.

Meeshie asked me last week, when the weather was a little cooler, if I would make her some hot chocolate.  I laughed.  I associate hot chocolate with cold weather, like I’ve just spend serious time outside in the snow cold weather.  I wasn’t willing to make her that, but I’ve been waiting to make this wonderful popover.  Plus I wanted to send her off with good vibes for her test.

This was such a fun and easy dessert.  I used muffin tins to cook the popover in.  While it was in the oven, my kitchen smelled like hot chocolate.  Really, I’m not exaggerating.  It was heavenly.  The marshmallow wasn’t too much either,  I think that’s because the popover itself isn’t overly sweet so there is a great balance between them.

Oh, and did I mention I have a rash?  Nothing bad, but it started on Friday.  It’s under my arms and on the inside of my arms.  It’s getting better, but heat is not a friend to a rash.  I’ve tried Benadryl, but it just knocks me out.  Even though nothing has changed here, I’ve decided not to wear anything on the skin for a few days.  Great way to meet someone new,  especially after spending time in front of the stove.  Oh, and let me just apologize to everyone I’m coming in contact with for the next few days, too.  I’m less itchy today, so I’m hoping it will go away as quietly as it came.

Hot Chocolate Popovers

  • 2 tT Butter, melted plus more for greasing the pan
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 C  Milk
  • 1 t Vanilla Extract
  • 1 t Salt
  • 3 T Sugar
  • 2 T plus 2 t unsweetened Cocoa Powder
  • 3/4 C plus 2 T Flour
  • 1/4 C semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 12 large marshmallows

Place a rack in the center of the oven and preheat oven to 400 degrees F.

Use a paper towel to generously grease the individual muffin cups, set aside.

In a medium bowl, thoroughly whisk together butter, eggs, milk, and vanilla extract.  In a large bowl, sift the sugar, salt, cocoa powder, and flour. 

Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and whisk until just incorporated and no lumps remain.  Pour the batter into the prepared muffin pan, filling the cups one-half to two-thirds full.  

Place pan in the oven and set timer for 30 minutes.  Do not open the oven.  After 30 minutes, remove the popovers from the oven and immediately set oven to broiler.  Carefully add a sprinkling (maybe about 5-7) chocolate chips into the center of the popover, and top with a marshmallow.  If you have to press the chocolate in and deflate the popover a bit, use the back of a spoon. 

Place pan under the broiler and  keep an eye on the toasting marshmallows.  They’ll only need about a minute under the broiler.  Feel free to rotate the pan as necessary.

Remove toasted popovers from the oven.  Let cool for about 5 minutes.  Use a butter knife to gently remove the popovers.  Serve warm.

Popovers are best the day they’re made, but they also freeze just fine.  Place in the freezer and reheat wrapped in foil, in a 350 degree oven.

Here’s the original.

6 comments

  1. These are adorable! Hope all that great food made your mom’s boyfriend no so afraid of you guys anyway. I’m sure it would be pretty intimidating to finally meet the family. Good luck with your rash. How frustrating!


  2. I love popovers! I’ve only made savory ones, but these look great especially with the puffed marshmallow in the center. Nothing better than the smell of something sweet baking in the oven. Hope the tests go well (no pre-test butterflies) and you’re feeling better today.
    Allison


    • Allison-
      Will you be sharing any of your savory ones any time soon?
      Karen


  3. I’ve never even heard of a popover but it sounds delicious!


    • Megan-
      Have you heard of yorkshire pudding? It’s very similar to that, but this is a sweet version.
      Karen


  4. I’ve never had a sweet popover but that will change this weekend! I’m definitely making these 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!