h1

Pierogi with a Few Steps

December 31, 2010

I don’t normally show steps with my recipes.  I find that sometimes they are too distracting.  Do you really need to see a picture of an egg in a bowl before you beat it? 

This recipe has a couple of steps to it and I know that many people think it’s a complex recipe.

It isn’t. 

It’s a little time-consuming because when I make this recipe I make 9-10 dozen pierogi.  After I boil them, I let them cool and then stick them in bags for the freezer.  That way I have them at my fingertips when we want a nice hearty quick meal.

The dough recipe is from my great-aunt.  The potatoes and sour cream really make the pierogi light.  Some pierogi is too doughy, but this isn’t.  Make the filling a day ahead, you want it to be cool while you work it.  If it’s warm it will be too wet and you’ll have a mess while you’re trying to seal them.  Once you’ve made the dough, you can  add whatever filling you like, savory or sweet.  When I was a girl my mom made plum ones from the plum tree in our yard.  If you make sweet ones I suggest frying them in butter and dusting them with powdered sugar.  Blueberry ones are great for breakfast this way.

Make sure that if you make more than one filling, you keep them separate and labeled unless you enjoy the mystery of not knowing what you are eating until you bite into it.

Make your fillings the night before.  Here’s the potato filling.

Here’s the kraut filling.  I had some shiitake mushrooms so I added them to the mix.

This is what the dough looks like before you roll it out.  You want to make sure to slowly add the water-you may not use it all.  The dough should be tacky to the touch.

I use a glass to cut out the pierogi to the right size.

Fill ’em half way.

Seal them really tight,  you may need a little bit of water to do that.  If you don’t seal them properly they’ll open up when you boil them.  That would be a disaster.

I boil them in water salted with chicken flavored soup base (like JB Jamison’s).  I use that for boiling potatoes too, instead of salt.  If I’m making sweet pierogi I do use salt instead though.

Pierogi

  • Potato Filling:
  • 1-½ cup Mashed Potato (mashed With Only Butter)
  • 1 whole Onion, Diced
  • ½ pounds Bacon, Fried And Cut Into 1/2 Inch Strips
  • Sauerkraut Filling
  • ½ pounds Bacon, Fried And Cut Into 1/2 Inch Strips
  • 1 whole Onion, Diced
  • 1 cup Mushrooms, Chopped
  • ½ jars Sauerkraut (32 Ounce Jar; I Use Frank’s Brand With Caraway Seeds, Drained And Rinsed)
  • Dough
  • ¾ cups Mashed Potato (just A Peeled, Boiled, And Mashed Potato)
  • 4 cups Flour
  • ¾ cups Butter, Softened
  • 4 whole Egg Yolks
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • ¼ cups Sour Cream
  • ½ cups Water

Note: Make the fillings the day before because it is best to work with at room temperature.

For the potato filling:
Fry the bacon and remove from the pan. Dice the onion and saute it in the bacon grease until translucent. Add the bacon and onion to the mashed potato. Salt and pepper to taste. Let cool.

For the sauerkraut filling:
Fry the bacon and remove from the pan. Saute the onion in the bacon grease until translucent and then add the mushroom until liquid reduces. Add the bacon, onion and mushroom to the drained and rinsed sauerkraut. Add pepper to taste. Saute the sauerkraut mixture for 5-8 minutes. Let cool and drain.

For the Dough:
The base of the dough is mashed potato. DO NOT add any butter or milk to this mashed potato. Add to the mashed potato the flour, softened butter, egg yolks, salt, sour cream and water. Note: As you combine all the ingredients together for the dough, make sure to add the water slowly (you may not use all of it). It should still be slightly tacky.

Roll out half of the dough onto a floured surface about 1/8 inch thick and cut into circles that are about 3 1/2 inch in diameter. I use a glass for this. Place a spoonful of the either filling on one half of the dough. Fold over the dough and press the edges together. If the dough won’t seal, put some water on the edge and pinch it together. You must make sure they are sealed tight or they will come apart when you boil them.

Place the completed/stuffed pierogis into salted boiling water. I use a large pot and add 10 of them at a time making sure you don’t crowd the pot. Cook for about 5 minutes or until they float. Remove from the pot with a slotted spoon.

I put them on a cookie sheet so that they don’t overlap and can cool and drain.  If you plan to freeze them, just stick the cookie sheet in the freezer to flash freeze them before you place them in a bag.  This will help prevent them from sticking together inside the bag and becoming one giant pierogi.

In a pan melt some butter (or I like to use bacon grease) with a little onion and sauerkraut. Saute. In a separate pan melt some butter (or bacon grease) and brown the pierogi so that they get nice and crisp. Serve with sour cream.

One dough recipe makes about 3 dozen pierogi.

7 comments

  1. When you pull them out of the freezer, do you have to thaw before sauteing?


    • Kathy-
      You don’t have to. I’ve done it both ways. I’ve put them in the pan frozen when I’ve forgotten to plan ahead and I just cook them slower. If I remember to thaw them, then I just adjust the heat accordingly. They are already cooked when you pull them out of the freezer so they heat through quickly. I know that people like pierogi boiled only, but I like them crunchy.
      Karen


  2. […] 1/8 inch thickness.  Use a 4-inch round cutter to cut the dough.  I used the same glass I use for pierogi.  Place a spoonful of cooled filling in the center of the dough, pinch all the corners together […]


  3. […] fry green beans in the grease.  Or how about some pierogi?  Why not some haluski,?  I’m sure I’m not the only one that cooks my hash browns in […]


  4. I loooooove homemade pierogi! I make them for Christmas and Easter by the dozen – usually around 10 dozen or so. But let me tell you, the bacon in the fillings definitely made my eyes fly open wide. I’ve never thought of that before! 🙂 Thanks for the fresh inspiration!


    • Yep, bacon always makes everything taste so much better. Thanks for stopping by! I too make them by the 10 dozen or so.
      Karen


  5. […] Well they came over and I made the perfect meal for a man straight from Ireland:  potato pancakes, pierogi,  and […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

