h1

kolaczky

April 25, 2010

Meeshie saw that I had posted this recipe on another site and said to me mom, no ratings yet?  Don’t they know this is the best cookie in the world?  I guess not.

I don’t think people know how easy it is to make either. 

So in honor of all the sweets I have been making for Meeshie’s communion here is the recipe.  Enjoy!

Kolaczky

  • 1 C of butter, softened
  • 1 package of cream cheese
  • 2 C of flour

Cream the butter and cream cheese together. Scrape the sides of the bowl and add one cup of the flour to the cream cheese mixture. Scrape the sides of the bowl again and add the remaining flour. Mix the dough by hand and form a nice ball. The dough may slightly stick to your fingers but not too much. If it is too sticky you can add a small amount of additional flour to the dough. Wrap the dough in Saran Wrap and place in the fridge for at least 2 hours. I usually keep it in the fridge overnight.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

Remove the dough from the fridge and let it get room temperature. Pinch off enough dough to form a marble sized ball. Press the ball onto a cookie sheet. The dough should be very thin. Spread the pastry filling of your choice onto the dough. I use Solo pastry filling: almond, raspberry and/or poppy seed.

Bake in the oven for 8-11 minutes or until the edges are golden brown.

Remove from the oven and let them sit for a few minutes on the cookie sheet before transporting them to a plate or platter. Sprinkle with confectioner’s sugar. Since they are open faced, do not stack them they will stick together.

The dough makes about 8 dozen cookies.

2 comments

  1. […] My mom came over on Saturday with her boyfriend.  She’s been dating him on and off for about a year or so.  I’ve actually invited him over for dinner a few times, but he kept backing out.  Maybe I make him nervous, except how can that be if he’s never met me?  Well they came over and I made the perfect meal for a man straight from Ireland:  potato pancakes, pierogi,  and kolaczky. […]


  2. […] made the pecan pie.  Right now, I’m making pumpkin butter pie.  This will free me up to make kolaczky tomorrow morning.  I think I make the whole spread with the turkey and sides just to eat all of […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

