h1

The missing T

July 1, 2010

I have a younger brother and he lives in Philadelphia.  He’s been living there for almost two years, I think.  It’s a long story, but we’ve lost touch for a while.  Anyway, when my husband’s beloved Blackhawks made it the Stanley Cup finals against Philadelphia I had to call him and give him grief.  When I talked to him he told me that he didn’t have any Blackhawks stuff to wear during the finals and irritate his roommates. 

He had just moved from housing facility to a smaller one and so I got him a shirt and mailed it off.  He got it the day the Blackhawks won the cup.  My husband then got him another shirt commemorating the win. 

I go to the post office a lot, I’m always selling books that I’ve read and sending them off.  The ladies at the post office and I have special rapport.  When I mailed the second shirt, the girl asked me if I need delivery confirmation. 

No, I mailed him a shirt last week and he got it in two days.  He’ll get this one in no time, too. 

 I sent my brother a text to let him know I had mailed it off and to expect the package.

I mailed the T on June 14th.  That Saturday he sent me a text to let me know that he was still waiting for the package.  Then again that Wednesday.  Then again the following Saturday. 

Then I started to think that I had mailed the package to his old address.  He checked there and it wasn’t there.

 He called me this past Monday to give me a hard time about the cup being brought to the Gay Pride Parade.  At that time I told him that I would get him another shirt and send it to him.  My husband informed me that he bought a special locker room T.  I’m not sure I know what that is, but I had a feeling that I wasn’t going to be able to find the same shirt again.

My brother called me yesterday to let me know that he got the T. 

What’s the postmark?

June 14th.

How does the packaging look?

It’s in great shape.

I sent that T priority and it took 16 days to get to Philadelphia.  I don’t anyone that takes a vacation for that length of time.  I don’t think delivery confirmation would have made a difference either.

3 comments

  1. It’s just called the Pride parade. Just pride. Simple and to the point. Pride.


    • I know that they dropped it to the Pride Parade here, but my brother said they called it the Gay Pride Parade in Philly when he saw it on the news.


  2. I sent a package back to Coldwatercreek, back in May to return some jeans that I purchased online. They still haven’t received it. It didn’t need postage, as it had one of those labels where you just pop it back in the mail. I’m out the money I paid for the jeans. Your story gives me some hope that they might still get it.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!