h1

Cajun Potatoes

June 29, 2010

We had ribs for dinner the other night with these Cajun potatoes.   I hadn’t made this dish in a long time probably because there was a time when we ate them too often. 

These potatoes always remind me of camping.  When my husband and I were dating we made them for the first time on a camping trip.  Then when we were first married I made them, a lot.  They taste great reheated in the skillet for breakfast.

This dish is pretty simple, you just stick it on the grill and leave it.

Let’s fire up that grill!

Cajun Potatoes

  • 4 large potatoes, scrubbed and cubed
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 green pepper, diced I must admit that this time I didn’t use a whole green pepper  I used half of one because that’s all I had.
  • 1 stick of butter
  • Cajun seasoning, I use Tony Chachere’s
  • 1 C Shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Mix the potatoes, onion, and pepper in a foil pan.  Cut up the butter and place on top of the potatoes.  Sprinkle with the Cajun seasoning, to taste.  Cover with tin foil and place on the grill for about 45 minutes until the potatoes are tender.  Remove the foil, toss and sprinkle the cheese on top.  Continue to grill until the cheese has melted, about 5 minutes. 

Hey-how do you prepare your ribs?  I like to take the ribs, rap the slab in foil, add some sliced onion and pepper to it and stick it on the grill 20 minutes a side.  Then I remove the slab from the foil and let it brown for a few minutes on each side then add BBQ sauce and honey.  That way the ribs don’t get too charred and the ribs are so tender from steaming/cooking in their own juices.

5 comments

  1. This is how we do our ribs. Use Baby Back ribs, remove the underside film from the ribs. rinse well, put into a foil pan, season with
    10-15 cloves of fresh garlic
    10 bay leaves
    Sprinkle with worshishire sauce
    Sprinkle with cinnammon (I know that sounds weird, but it really compliments pork well)
    Sprinkle with Salt and Pepper
    Cover with heavy aluminum foil
    Put in low oven 250 or 225 degress for 3 hours or until meat very tender
    Then put on the grill to brown, and then add your favorite bar b que sauce. We like to combine Sweet Baby Rays and Open Pit .
    Enjoy…. These are fall off the bone tender ribs!


    • I like the spices, I may try a variation of them. Thanks!


  2. It looks so yummy. I love the recipe. Thanks for sharing.


  3. I’m going to try these today with ribs!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

