h1

The Most Amazing Chicken Salad

July 3, 2010

I made this amazing chicken salad this week.  I found this recipe on Tasty Kitchen and was intrigued by it.  I’m not a chicken salad fan generally.  It usually has so much mayo in it that it has no flavor.   The chicken is usually bland, and the salad consistency is so mushy. 

Not so with this salad. 

This salad reminded me of the one chicken salad that I have had and liked.  It’s the same place Angel and I have gone to eat scones and clotted cream.  Their chicken salad has grapes or raisins in it, too.  I’m not quite sure.  Angel loves their chicken salad and usually orders some of it when we go.

I love that this recipe uses fresh chicken, not canned. 

I love that there are almonds in this recipe.  Everything tastes better with almonds.

This salad is so light and easy.  Perfect for the summer.

Chicken Salad

  • 4 cups Cooked, Diced Chicken (marinated and grilled)
  • 1 cup Grated Cheddar Cheese (sharp Is Best)
  • ¼ cups Slivered Almonds
  • 1 cup Chopped Celery
  • ⅓ cups Chopped Green Onions
  • 3 Tablespoons Fresh Squeezed Lemon Juice (juice Of Lemon Usually)
  • 1 jar Pimentos, 2 Oz. Jar, drained
  • ⅓ cups Miracle Whip Dressing
  • Salt, to taste
  • Ground Black Pepper, to taste
  • Granulated Garlic, to taste
  • Mix all the ingredients in a large bowl and chill for several hours before serving. Serve on your favorite bread or roll.

    I did not use Miracle Whip.  I’m not a fan of Miracle Whip.  I used mayo instead.  I also added some dried cherries to mine, less than a 1/4 of a cup.  I did not have green onion when I made this, so I used regular onion diced very fine.

     I’m also  thinking of trying this recipe with a fresh tuna filet to make tuna salad.

    3 comments

    1. This is very similar to my recipe for chicken salad. I don’t use cheese, celery, pimentos, or Miracle Whip(mayo for me)…no garlic either. Chicken salad should be simple. I also toast my almonds.


      • I’ll have try the toasted almonds. Usaully I would agree that it should be simple, but this really works well with all the flavors.


    2. I think your recipe is simple. I just never get into the raisins, grapes, sunflower seeds, etc. I think simple ingredients when mixed together give a wonderful dish! Oh, I forgot…I use a dash of ceyenne pepper in place of the black pepper in my salad.



    Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

