h1

Spice Cake…Or Heaven On a Plate

November 1, 2010

This cake reminds me of fall.

It also reminds me of my dad.

We had this cake on his birthday every year.  We also had it at other times of the year. 

This is a recipe that his mother shared with my mom.  According to my dad, Granny baked every day of the year.  You could tell the day of the week by the cake she baked.  That sounds so good.  I would have loved to have had a different cake to look forward to as a girl.

The smell of this cake is like home to me.  It’s the cloves.  The smell of cloves always makes me feel good.

I’ve searched through recipes and most spice cakes have a cream cheese frosting.  I’ve never had it that way and  I can’t imagine this cake without this meringue.  It melts in your mouth.  Have you ever had brown sugar meringue?  Oh you should.  Very soon.

It really is perfect marriage with this really moist cake.

Spice Cake

  • 1 t Baking Soda
  • 1-½ C Sour Milk (1 1/2 T Lemon Juice Added To Regular Milk)
  • ¾ C Butter
  • 2 C Brown Sugar
  • 2 whole Egg Yolks
  • 2-⅓ C Flour
  • 1 t Baking Powder
  • 1 t Ground Cloves
  • 1 t Cinnamon
  • ¾ t Salt
  • 1 t Vanilla Extract
  • FOR THE MERINGUE
  • 2 whole Egg Whites
  • 1 C Brown Sugar
  • Chopped Pecans For Topping

Dissolve baking soda in sour milk and set aside. Cream the butter, sugar and egg yolks together. Add the sour milk mixture. Mix the dry ingredients together and add to the butter mixture. Add the vanilla and beat for 4 minutes. Pour in a greased 9×13 cake pan.

For the meringue, beat the egg whites until stiff. Slowly add the brown sugar. Spread the meringue over the cake and sprinkle with the chopped pecans.

Bake in a preheated 350-degree oven for 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Enjoy!

One comment

  1. […] cupcakes are very moist and light.  I loved that the flavor reminded me of spice cake.  I also loved that you can easily double this […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!