h1

An Easy Morning

February 20, 2011

We love biscuits and gravy.

Nothing beats this easy morning meal.  Nothing except a bad sausage and gravy recipe that is.  This one is not one of those.  I’ve been tinkering with a good recipe for along while.  I’ve tried some bland ones.  Really bland.  Nothing is more disappointing than a bland sausage gravy recipe.  It’s like paste.

The secret to this is keeping additional sausage drippings.  I keep them in the fridge just like I keep bacon drippings.  The extra fat and flavor is key to this recipe.

Plus I mentioned that it was easy, right?  It’s a perfect breakfast on a rainy day like today.  You can use whatever biscuit recipe you like.  As a matter of fact, I’d love to try any that you suggest.

Sausage Gravy

  • 1 lb Breakfast Sausage
  • 4 T Breakfast Sausage Drippings
  • 1/4 C Flour
  • 3 C Milk
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Pepper

In a large skillet, brown the broken up sausage over medium heat.  Do not drain.  Add the additional sausage drippings, flour, salt and pepper.  Stir constantly until the flour begins to brown.  Slowly add the milk and continue to stir.  Bring the mixture to a simmer, cooking for about a minute or two until it thickens to the consistency that you desire.  Keep in mind that as the gravy cools it will thicken.

Pour over your favorite biscuits.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!