h1

Sunshiny Day

February 22, 2011

I made clotted cream on Sunday.  My husband loves when I make it because he knows that he’ll be having scones.

I wanted to make some lemon flavored scones for spring.  Of course, it rained and snowed yesterday but that’s to be expected this time of year.

I couldn’t find any recipes that really interested me.  Most of them were all about the lemon glaze for the scone, but when you have clotted cream you don’t really need a glaze.  So I took my very berry scone recipe and altered it.

Lovely.

I think the key is the double sifting of the dry ingredients.  That and making sure that the scones are warm for your husband to enjoy before he leaves or work.

Lemon Scones

  • 2 1/2 C Flour
  • 2 t Baking Powder
  • 2 T Sugar
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1/2 t ground Ginger
  • 6 T Shortening
  • Zest from one Lemon
  • Juice from one Lemon
  • 3/4 C Milk

Sift and measure the flour. Re-sift the flour with the other dry ingredients. Work the shortening into the dry ingredients with your fingers. Add the lemon zest and juice and mix thoroughly. Add the milk and mix until just incorporated. Do not over mix. Divide the dough into two equal parts. On an ungreased cookie sheet, pat into a round about the thickness of a biscuit (about 3/4 to 1 inch thick). Cut into wedge shaped pieces, like a pie and bake for 15 minutes at 450 degrees. Serve warm with fresh Clotted Cream (see my recipe box for my Clotted Cream recipe).

2 comments

  1. I just love the sound of clotted cream and scones. I hear them pronounced with a British accent in my head. 🙂 Those lemon scones look delicious!


    • Nicole-
      That’s so funny! Now I’m going to hear the accent too. Have you every had clotted cream? It’s so good. If you make the scones, let me know.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

