h1

I Know Where a Garden Grows

May 27, 2010

I planted my vegetable garden last weekend. This is the earliest I’ve done it in a long while. I planted it one year on Mother’s day weekend and then a frost came and I had to replant. This year I’m not only optimistic but prepared if a frost should come. And it probably will. Memorial Day weekend is usually when I plant, but I’m more anxious this year, I guess.

I planted my stand by of tomatoes, jalapeños, banana peppers, green peppers and zucchini. I added cucumbers, garlic, and celery this year. Yes celery. My neighbor gave me some celery which I have never seen at the nursery to plant before. I still need to get basil and oregano but I have planted cilantro.

Last year I planted the herbs in an area near the house and they did very well. This year I’m not sure how well they will work out. The rabbits are so brutal and they just eat whatever strikes their fancy. Which means I never know what they will eat from year to year or week to week.

I’ll be adding my irrigation system to the garden one day this week. It helps me keep down the weeds if I put down enough cones.

I also bought tomato ladders this year. If they work out, I’ll be getting a few more next year when we expand the garden.

Now I just need to be patient.  That’s the hardest part of gardening.  That at weeding.

2 comments

  1. so how does your irrigation system work? it looks interesting and where did you find your tomatoe ladders?


    • The aqua cones are just cones on attached to 2 litter bottles that have their bottoms cut out. I got the ladders and the cones from Gardner’s Supply.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!