h1

The Wonder of Waffles

September 3, 2012

I discovered something about my husband this summer that I never knew.  Or maybe, to be fair, I always knew it, but could never persuade him to change his mind.  You see, although my husband loves breakfast food, I’ve never gotten him to enjoy a waffle.  The closest he’s come to one during all the years we’ve been together is the kind that comes out of a box in the freezer section of the grocery store.

And believe me, I’ve tried to persuade him.  I’ve got tons of great recipes, but he’s always just shrugged and said they were okay.  Anyone that spends any time in the kitchen knows that telling the cook it’s okay is worse than saying please don’t make this again.  Nothing is more frustrating than spending time making a meal for someone and encountering indifference.

Oh, but our wonderful trip to Texas changed that.  First, Meeshie had a waffle for breakfast almost everyday.  And, even though she and I share most of our meals, I couldn’t eat the same thing as often.  Not when one of the best things about vacation is trying the local cuisine.  Therefore, my husband finished quite a few of her meals.  It’s that Catholic guilt which can get really tricky when you can’t bring home your leftovers.

Since we’ve been home, I’ve made waffles more times than I had since I’ve been married.  Let’s just say, it’s been a lot.  I don’t mind.  I love waffles.

This recipe is simple but does require some planning.  You make most of the batter the night before to allow the yeast to work its magic.  This allows for a super light and airy waffle.  Crisp on the outside and fluffy on the inside just as it should be.  I serve them with an easy apple pear compote.  The compote can be made a day or two ahead and reheats easily.

Waffles

  • 1/2 C Warm Water
  • 1 T Sugar
  • 2 1/4 t Active Dry Yeast (1 packet)
  • 2 C Milk, warmed
  • 1/2 C Butter
  • 1 t Salt
  • 2 C Flour
  • 2 Eggs, room temperature and lightly beaten
  • 2 t Vanilla
  • 1/4 t Baking Soda
  • 1/2 t Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg

Combine the warm water (110 degrees), sugar and yeast.  Let stand for at least ten minutes.  While yeast is foaming, melt the butter in a small saucepan and add the milk until it reaches 110 degrees.  In a large bowl, combine the flour and salt.  Slowly add the milk mixture and the yeast mixture.  Combine until the batter is smooth.  Cover tightly with plastic wrap and let stand overnight (or for at least eight hours) in a room temperature area such as the counter.  DO NOT REFRIGERATE.

Add the eggs, vanilla, baking soda, cinnamon and nutmeg to the batter.  Mix thoroughly and let stand for five minutes.  Preheat the waffle iron.  Pour batter into waffle grids.  Close cover and bake until golden brown, about 2-4 minutes.  Remove waffle from iron and place on a cookie sheet.  Place cookie sheet in a low oven, about 200 degrees to keep warm until ready to serve.

Makes 6-8 waffles.

Apple Pear Compote:

  • 1/2 Lemon
  • 4 Granny Smith Apples, peeled, cored and diced
  • 3 Bosc Pears, peeled, cored and diced
  • 2/3 C Sugar
  • 1/4 t Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t Ginger
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg
  • 1/4 C Butter
  • 1/4 C Flour
  • 1 t Vanilla

Zest the lemon and set aside. Place the apples and pears in a medium mixing bowl. Squeeze the lemon juice over the fruit, then toss fruit with the sugar, cinnamon, ginger, salt and nutmeg.

Melt the butter in a large skillet over medium-high heat until brown. Add the fruit and cook, stirring until the sugar dissolves and juices simmer, about 2 minutes. Reduce heat to medium, and cook, uncovered, until the fruit softens and the juices evaporate some, about 10 minutes. Evenly mix the flour into the fruit; then cook about a minute more to thicken the juices slightly. Stir in the vanilla and lemon zest; and remove from the heat.

Serve over the waffles.  You can also serve the compote with your favorite pancakes or oatmeal.

 

4 comments

  1. I love all things waffles! The apple pear compote really elevates them too!


    • Thanks Julie! I’ve used the compote for filling in turnovers too. Heaven.
      Karen


  2. I’ve tried to persuade my husband to sample a few different food items and have never had much luck. I’m glad your husband is in the waffle fan club! I love your compote recipe. It has me thinking of fall and cooler weather!


    • Allison-
      It’s the pears. Pears equal fall to me more so than apples.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

