h1

More Zucchini

August 19, 2012

We are still enjoying our garden zucchini.  I’m thanking the unusually hot summer.  I usually don’t have zucchini this long, unless I plant additional halfway through the season.    I thought that since we really enjoy the oven roasted tomatoes, why not try the same method with zucchini?  Why indeed.  These zucchini chips have been eaten so fast, they’ve never made it to the table.  Meeshie keeps asking when I plan to make them again.  Soon, sweetie, I promise.

The thinner you cut the zucchini, the crisper they will become.  The crunch is what makes this so irresistible.  These chips are so worth the time needed to make.  Especially since the time element is the hardest part of the recipe.  The time depends on how thick, or thin, you slice the zucchini.  So please be patient.

Are these perfect for an appetizer?  You bet.  Would these taste heavenly as a side to a hamburger, hot dog, sausage, or your favorite sandwich?  No doubt.  Is this a great way to get your child to eat their veggies?  YES!

Oh, and the red baskets?  My husband saw those at Sur La Table at the beginning of summer.  I thought they would just sit in the cabinet unused.  I was so wrong.  We love these baskets!  We use them for lunch and dinner.  We put hamburgers, hot dogs and sausage in them.  We’ve used them for chicken wings.  I bought the double box of waxed paper from Costco and use that as the liner.

Zucchini Chips

  • 3-4 Medium Zucchini, sliced thin
  • 1-2 T Olive Oil
  • Truffle Salt
  • Fresh Ground Pepper
  • Parmesan

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.  In a large mixing bowl, toss the zucchini with the olive oil, salt and pepper to coat the zucchini evenly.  Lay the zucchini on the baking sheet on a single layer.  Bake in a 200 degree oven for 2-3 hours, flipping the zucchini after an hour and half.  If desired, toss the warm chips with freshly grated parmesan.

6 comments

  1. Karen, those chips look delicious! I think I will try a batch this weekend. Someone recently told me about baking natural dog snacks from sliced sweet potatoes so I think I will put some zucchini in with it for us! The potatoes require a slow bake as well.


    • Lisa-
      I know that sweet potato is very good for a dog’s digestion. I think pumpkin as well. I never thought to make a dog treat! Thanks for sharing.
      Karen


  2. That is such a great idea, Karen. I would’ve never have thought to do that. Such a great technique and a simple ingredient list. Love the red baskets too…perfect for the summer!

    Allison


    • Allison-
      Thanks the baskets may transition into tailgate season…
      Karen


  3. I spice up my zucchini snack chips using various sauces. Wasabe zucchini chips and hot mustard zucchini chips are great as a snack or as a side dish.


    • Wow, sounds really good!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

