h1

Crusty Bread

July 1, 2012

I know I’ve mentioned this before, but I love bread.  All kinds of bread.  I also love making bread.  I came across a recipe recently that I knew I had to try at my earliest opportunity.  I’m so glad that I did.  This recipe is so simple and it’s one of the best breads I’ve ever made.  I think that says a lot, because I’ve made my fair share of bread.

What I love about this bread is that it’s fool-proof.  What do I mean by that?  Well it uses yeast, and although I’m a lover of all things yeast, I don’t like to use it too often in the summer.  The humidity can make it temperamental.  And it has been more than humid around here.  Hot and humid is one of the joys of summer in the midwest.  But this recipe puts the four ingredients together and you just forget about them for at least 12 hours.  You don’t have to stress about water temperature.  The longer you allow the yeast to feed, the yummier your bread will be.   It’s almost like make a starter for your bread.  Fool proof, I tell you!

The other great thing about this bread is that you bake it inside an enameled cast iron pot.  I have a beautiful one from Sur La Table, but feel free to use your Staub or Le Creuset one.  Baking inside the pot is what gives it that wonderful crusty crunchy texture.  This bread is great on a sandwich, or just sliced and eaten with some butter.

Crusty Bread

  • 3 C Flour
  • 1 3/4 t Salt
  • 1/2 t Yeast
  • 1 1/2 C Water

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.  Add the water and mix until combined.  It will be very loose.  Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set aside, on the counter, for 12-18 hours.  Do not refrigerate.  Trust me, once the dough has sat for at least 12 hours, you will have a happy little yeast community.  Once the dough is ready, heat the oven to 450 degrees.  Place the pot in the oven, covered, for 30 minutes.  While the pot is heating, place the dough on a heavy floured surface and shape into a ball.  Place the dough back into the bowl and cover with plastic wrap.  Once the pot has been in the 450 degree oven for 30 minutes, remove it and place the dough inside.  Cover the pot and bake for 30 minutes.  After 30 minutes, remove the lid and bake for an additional 15 minutes.  Remove the bread from the oven and place on a cooling rack.

That’s it, no need to grease the pot.  So easy and delicious!

Here’s the original post.

2 comments

  1. That is a great recipe. I have booked marked this to try. Thanks for sharing.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

