h1

Butter Me Up

June 24, 2012

I made flavored butter today.  I’ve made it before.  It’s one of those easy and wonderful things that for some reason I’d forgotten about.  I was going to make it with blueberries, but went with strawberries instead.

Imagine this on some toast, a bagel, or pancakes.  I’m a big fan of butter and peanut butter on a bagel, and this really brings the bagel to another level.

I’ll be sharing other flavors throughout the summer.  I’m especially hopeful that we will be able to blueberry pick this year.  We missed it last year and I’ve heard that the blueberry farm near us may have another bad season.  But if we can’t blueberry pick, I know that I can make some blackberry, raspberry, and cherry butter.   But don’t feel you need to stick to fruit, I’ve made maple butter too.   I mean, come on, it’s butter.  Butter makes everything taste good, right?

Strawberry Butter

  • 2 c Strawberries, pureed
  • 3 T Honey
  • 2 t Lemon Juice
  • 1 C Butter, softened

In a saucepan, add the pureed strawberries, honey and lemon juice.  Heat until the strawberries are thick and reduce by almost half.  Allow to cool and then cream the softened butter and strawberries together.  Chill the butter thoroughly until set.

You can place the butter in one cup mason bars and give out as a gift.

Here’s the post that inspired me.

3 comments

  1. That sounds delish. I’ve been posting a bunch of strawberry recipes too @ http://adventurefoodlove.com.
    But hadn’t thought of doing this. Perfect for the kids..


    • Candio-
      Imagine what else you can add to butter!
      Karen


  2. Okay, I have to make some strawberry butter before the strawberries disappear. I’ve made something similar, but not with the addition of honey. I bet it’s delicious!
    Thanks, Karen!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

