h1

Starting Something New

May 30, 2012

I apologize for not posting.  Last week was a whirlwind.  It was my last week at work.

For those of you that don’t know, I’ve been looking for another job for quite some time.  The job I was at for the last few years was well below my skill level.  I took it due to budget cuts in my old department.  A few weeks ago I had a job offer, which I took, but that involved leaving some of the nicest people I know.  Truly, the people I worked with daily made the drudgery of my job seem less like drudgery.  I’ve cried more in the last week, then I have in a while.  I’m excited about the new changes, but it has been a very bittersweet week.

Of course, this week hasn’t been any better.  For the first time ever, I decided to take time of between jobs and I had such grand plans.  I think I’ve been able to accomplish some of those things, but not many.  It’s Meeshie’s last week of school, so I’m making arrangements for summer for her.  It’s been unusually warm, so the plans I had to work in the yard have been put on hold.  Except for the garden.  We expanded the garden this year and added a lovely fence.  I planted all of my veggies over the holiday weekend.

I’ve been trying to get some baking done while I’m home.  I want to bring in a treat to all my new co-workers next week, and I’m trying to figure out what that will be.

These lemon jam bars are a pretty good start.  I used some homemade jam in them, but store-bought will work.  I think either strawberry, raspberry or blueberry would really make this pop.  The jam complements the lemon in the bars perfectly.  I know I’ve been make quite a few things with lemon lately, but why not?  There’s something about lemon in the spring or summer that is so perfect.

Lemon Jam Bars

  • Crust:
  • 1 C Butter, softened
  • 2 C Flour
  • 1/2 C Confectioners’ Sugar
  • 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • Zest from one Lemon
  • Filling:
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 C Fresh Lemon Juice (I used 6 lemons)
  • Zest from one Lemon
  • 3/4 t Baking Powder
  • 4 t Flour
  • 1/2 C your favorite jam, I used strawberry, but use what you think will work well with the lemon

Line a quarter sheet with parchment paper and set aside.

Combine the butter, flour, confectioners’ sugar, baking powder, salt and lemon zest together in a medium bowl.  Use a wooden spoon to form a soft dough.  Press evenly into the prepared pan.  Refrigerate for 10 minutes. Bake the crust for 15 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  Remove from oven,  but leave the oven on.  Allow the crust to cool for at least 15 minutes.

Combine the eggs, sugar, lemon juice, lemon zest, baking powder and flour together in a medium bowl.  Whisk until well blended.  Spread the jam over the cooled crust.  Slowly pour the lemon filling on to the jam layer.  Bake for 22-24 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  After that, lower the temperature to 325 degrees and continue to bake for an additional 20-25 minutes, or until the topping has set.  Remove from oven and cool completely.  Refrigerate for at least two hours before serving.

Dust with additional powdered sugar before serving, if desired.

This is another great recipe I found on pinterest.  Here’s the original.

2 comments

  1. Hope you enjoy your time off & love your new job!!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

