h1

Pineapple Mango Salad

May 16, 2012

I know I’ve mentioned in the past that I get Everyday Food magazine.  It was a gift a few years ago from my friend Cathy.  I love it so much that I renewed it myself this year.  The renewal came with WholeLiving.  It’s a strange magazine and usually I just recycle it, but I came across a great recipe that I love.

The thing I love about Everyday Food is that I don’t have to hunt down one strange ingredient (or five) to make a recipe and then never use that ingredient again.  If you don’t mind doing that, than you may like WholeLiving.  This wonderful fruit salad originally calls for a Meyer Lemon and a 1/2 C of freshly shaved coconut.  You’ll see that I left both out. I’m not about to hunt all over for the lemon or go through the hassle of opening a coconut.  Not to mention figuring out what to do with the remaining coconut.

The balance of the pineapple, mango and lemon for this salad is wonderful.  This is a refreshing and different way to enjoy pineapple.  You could chill it, but I served it at room temperature and it was divine.  I must admit that I do prefer the Manila mango.  It’s a sweeter mango with a yellowish skin that is bursting with flavor.  I was fortunate to buy a box of them at my local grocer.  But use what you like, or can get your hands on.

Pineapple Mango Salad

  • 1 whole Pineapple, peeled, cored, and cut into 1-1 1/2 inch cubes
  • 2 whole Mangos, peeled, pitted, and cut into 1/2 inch cubes
  • 1 whole lemon, zested and juiced

Combine all three ingredients in a medium-sized bowl.  Toss and serve.

Serves 4-6.

8 comments

  1. Yum! I just picked these fruits up at Aldi. I may just have myself a fruit salad with our dinner tonight!


    • Kathy-
      I hope you like it as much as I do. I loved it.
      Karen


  2. I almost always have a fresh pineapple on hand and often buy mango, so this recipe is perfect for me. I agree on omitting the meyer lemon and coconut. Sometimes it’s just not worth the time, money or effort to track down weird ingredients, especially when it looks like the salad is great without them.


    • Nicole-
      I don’t mind hunting down an ingredient if I know I’ll use it again, but it seemed like such a waste for this salad.

      Hope you have a chance to try it.

      Karen


  3. It was really good. We all liked it alot! Carol


  4. When it comes to Salads, i always love fruit salad and russian salad. ,

    <a href="Most current content article on our own web site
    http://www.prettygoddess.com


  5. Potato salad is amongst the most appreciated dishes when the summer starts to appear. The uplifting bite of the potatoes which have just peaked in their growing season liberally smothered in a tangy sweet sauce. It’s making our mouths water just speaking about it.When you are captivated and want to start figuring out how to make potato salad for your next summer gathering, then follow along and we are going to show you how easy it is!’

    Most interesting brief article on our own website
    <http://www.beautyfashiondigest.com/black-and-white-wedding-dresses/



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

