h1

Irish Soda Bread

May 7, 2012

I’m home today because Meeshie is not feeling well.  This morning she told me that she didn’t feel well and I did what I normally do, I told her she had to go to school.  I have a crazy week a head.   But she insisted.  She was actually not herself yesterday and didn’t sleep as well as she normally does.  Plus, I knew I was staying home when I told her that she had to go back to bed this morning and she agreed.  That meant no television, or electronic devices.

But that’s okay.  I’m keeping busy in the kitchen today while Meeshie rests.  Plus, I’ve been wanting to share this great recipe.  It’s Irish Soda Bread.  I know that in March this recipe is everywhere, but I love this bread all year round.   My good friend, Cathy makes a wonderful Irish Soda Bread.  This recipe, though, is from a lady who works in my office.  She said it’s an old family recipe and it makes two very large loaves.  This recipe can easily be divided into four loaves for sharing.

I’m a raisin soaker.  I know that some people like to soak raisins for Irish Soda Bread in whiskey.  It does add extra goodness to the bread, but I actually don’t have a preference.  Start with the six cups of flour, and adjust the dough accordingly.  Irish Soda Bread is dense and should not be overly dry.

Irish Soda Bread

  • 6-6 1/2 C Flour, sifted
  • 1 C Sugar
  • 3 t Baking Powder
  • 1 t Baking Soda
  • 1 3/4 C Buttermilk
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1/4 C Butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 C Raisins, soaked in warm water for at least 20 minutes (I used 1 C regular raisins and 1/2 C golden raisins)

Grease a large cookie sheet and set aside.

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, and baking soda together in a bowl.  In another bowl, mix the buttermilk, eggs and melted butter together.  Make a well in the center of the dry ingredients and pour the egg mixture in the center.  Mix the ingredients with the dough hook on a stand mixer, if you have one.  If not, mix the ingredients with a wooden spoon.  Mix the ingredients together until well combined.  Add the raisins and knead until fairly smooth.  Turn out on floured countertop and continue to knead for another minute or two.  If the dough is overly sticky, add more flour and continue kneading.  Divide the dough into two parts.  Place on the prepared cookie sheet and pat into two round loaves.  With a butter knife, cut a cross about 1/2 inch deep on top of each loaf.  Sprinkle with flour and bake for 45 to 50 minutes in a 350 degree oven until golden brown.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

