h1

Lemon Brownies

March 26, 2012

I love Pinterest.  I don’t understand it, but I love it.  I love logging in and seeing all the wonderful things my friends have found.  It’s like getting a package in the mail.  Except, of course, I don’t have to leave my house to get it.  All those wonderful pictures and ideas really inspire me.  I don’t go on there every day, because well I did mention that I don’t understand it, right?

But when I do go there, there’s always something wonderful waiting for me.  I blame that on my friend Kathy.  She pinned these lemon brownies and I knew that I had to make them.  It is spring time, after all.  Plus, I love lemon.

The original recipe calls for halving the brownies, but I doubled them.  I then doubled the amount of lemon in the glaze, but kept the original amount of powdered sugar.  I did that for two reasons, one, I knew that a 8×8 pan wouldn’t be enough; and two, I didn’t want to waste half of a lemon.

These are so good.  They are not a lemon square (if you need a recipe for those, you can find it here).  They are not a lemon cake.  They are not a pound cake.  They are the consistency of a brownie but without the chocolate.

Lemon Brownies

  • 1 1/2 C Flour
  • 1 1/2 C Sugar
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1 C Butter, softened
  • 4 eggs
  • Juice from one lemon
  • Zest from one lemon
  • Glaze:
  • 1/2 C Powdered Sugar, sifted
  • Juice from one lemon
  • Zest from one lemon

Combine the flour, sugar and salt in a large bowl.   Mix in the softened butter.  In another bowl, whisk together the eggs, lemon juice and lemon zest.  Add the egg mixture to the flour mixture.  Mix well.  Pour in a prepared 9×13 pan (I used a quarter sheet).  Bake in a 350 degrees oven for 30 minutes.  Remove from oven and let cool.

For the glaze, whisk together the sifted powdered sugar, lemon juice and lemon zest.  Spread on cooled brownies.

Makes 28 pieces.

Here’s the original.

Oh, and Kathy whenever you went to give a tutorial on Pinterest, I’m all yours!

8 comments

  1. You are so funny! I don’t really know all the ins and outs of Pinterest. What I do know is what I like…and that’s good food, gardening, funny quotes, etc. I try to pin things that not only I would like, but things I things my friends would be interested in too. It worked! You made the lemon brownies that I’m dying to make, but I gave up sweets for Lent. There’s going to be a feast after Easter!


    • Kathy-
      Well, you are my go to girl for all things Pinterest. Maybe becuase you pin so many things that I like too! Let me know how these work out for you. These would be perfect served on Easter.
      Karen


  2. This lemon version does sound great for spring!!


  3. I love pinterest, too. It’s so darn addictive. There are so many treasures on it like these brownies. I love lemon and a new way to enjoy it in a dessert is always a win for me.


    • Nicole-
      Any Pinterest tricks?
      Karen


  4. I made these on Sunday and my family just loved them! As of this morning (Tuesday), there were 2 left. Very good recipe. Thanks Karen.


    • Cathy-
      Awesome! I knew you would like them. So simple and yummy. If you try them with orange, let me know.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

