h1

Brioche

March 1, 2012

I know it’s not a surprise that I love to bake.  I especially love to bake bread.  For the last six months I’ve actually taken the plunge and started to use King Arthur flour.  I say the plunge because King Arthur flour is not cheap.  Luckily my local Target sells it at a reasonable amount.  This flour is worth every penny I pay for it.  It’s fantastic.

Do you know what else is fantastic?  The King Arthur website.  They have some wonderful recipes.  Like their recipe for brioche.   Brioche is a sweet bread made with eggs.   It’s also one of the best breads to use for french toast.  With this recipe you can make mini brioche, one large loaf or two loaves.  You can braid the loaf, or make it traditionally as a topknot.  The only thing to keep in mind is that it browns quickly.  That means that it may look done, but it isn’t.  So check on it frequently and tent it with foil as soon as it gets that deep brown.

I love to just slice this bread, toasted it slightly and spread some blueberry jam on it.

Brioche

  • 2 3/4 C Flour
  • 1/4 C Dry Milk
  • 3 T Sugar
  • 1 1/4 t Salt
  • 1 T  Yeast (you can use instant, I use dry active)
  • 3 Eggs, plus one more yolk reserving the white for top of the loaf
  • 1/4 C Lukewarm Water
  • 10 T Butter, softened

Using a stand mixer, mix together all of the ingredients to form a smooth, shiny dough.  This will take about 15 to 20 minutes.  Do not knead by hand.  Once the dough is shiny and smooth, form into a ball and place it into a greased bowl.

Cover the bowl and let the dough rise for at least an hour.  Place the dough in the refrigerator.  Refrigerate for at least 2 hours and as long as overnight.  This will allow the butter to chill, making the dough easier to shape.

Divide the dough into three equal pieces and braid.  Place the loaf on a parchment lined cookie sheet and allow to rise for 2 1/2 to 3 hours, until doubled in size.  You can also shape it into a large round traditional brioche; make mini brioche or make two loaves.  You can also place the dough into two greased bread pans.  Once the dough has rested and risen, whisk the egg whites with a small amount of milk and brush on the loaf.  Sprinkle with raw sugar.

Bake the whole loaf in a preheated 400 degree oven for 10 minutes.  Reduce the heat to 350 degrees and bake for 30 to 35 minutes.  Check every 10 minutes and if the loaf becomes too brown, tent with foil.  Brioche should be deep brown and sound hollow when tapped.

For the mini brioche, bake in 375 degree oven for 25 to 30 minutes, checking every 10 minutes and tent if necessary.

For two loaves, bake in 350 degree oven for 40 to 45 minutes, checking every 10 minutes and tent if necessary.

For the mini brioche, combine 1 C confectioner’s sugar, 1 t vanilla, and enough milk to drizzle on top.

6 comments

  1. I agree, the King Arthur website is wonderful! I like their flour, too, but you’re right about it being expensive. I’m so jealous of my sister and mom because they live in Vermont and the local Costco sells 25 lb bags of it for cheap. Sooo jealous. 🙂 Your brioche is beautiful!


    • Nicole-
      They sell the flour at their Costco? Oh that’s just not fair! Do they send you care packages? Thanks, the brioche was so good and easy to make.
      Karen


  2. So very glad you have noticed a difference with our flour, and that you’ve discovered all the online resources we offer! Your brioche looks amazing – makes me hungry! Thanks for sharing!


    • Allison-
      Thanks for commenting!
      Karen


  3. You make the best breads, Karen. When I saw your post, the first thing I thought of was French toast (just like you mentioned). I’d like to divide the dough and make two loaves so I could give one to my Mom. I think you said it was easy, so I’ll have to try!


    • Allison-
      You are too sweet. This was a really simple recipe, you must check out their website and let me know how your bread turns out.
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

