h1

Tomato Cream Soup

February 14, 2012

Yesterday I was home with Meeshie.  She was sick on Sunday and didn’t feel any better on Monday morning.  I was actually off for Lincoln’s birthday and had planned to do quite a few things.  Instead I stayed home and made soup.  Not that Meeshie had any, but still.  I also made some whoopie pies.  I love making them because they are so simple and easy to store.  Perfect for a fourth grader’s lunch.

Today Meeshie is feeling more herself.  Or maybe it’s the prospect of her Valentine’s Day party?  Either way, she’s back to school.  Sunday, on the other hand, was sad.  She missed a birthday party and never left the couch.  You know your child is not feeling right when that happens!

Ah, but back to the soup.  I made this simple and tasty tomato soup after going through one of my cook books.  I know a lot of people collect cook books, but I don’t.  I’ve found that if I buy one I may use one recipe out of the entire book.  With the exception of some wonderful books from Williams-Sonoma.  My husband found a collection of cook books for me when we were first married.  I don’t have the whole series, but I do have a few great books.  One of them is a soup cook book.  I know I’ve shared my love of soup, so it comes as no surprise that I’ve made quite a few of these recipes.

This tomato soup recipe calls for fresh tomatoes, but this time of year it’s best to use canned.  Using the canned tomatoes actually make the soup even easier because I didn’t have to blend anything.  If you use the fresh tomatoes, just skin them and chop them.

Tomato Cream Soup

  • 1/4 C Butter
  • 1 Onion, chopped
  • 1 Carrot, chopped
  • 2 Celery stalks, chopped
  • 1 Garlic Clove, chopped
  • 3-28 oz cans of crushed Tomatoes (or 4 lbs of fresh, skinned and chopped)
  • 3 C Chicken Stock
  • 1/2 t Thyme, dried
  • 1/3 t Ginger, ground
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • 1 1/2  C Bread Crumbs
  • 1 C Half and Half
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

In a large sauce pan, melt the butter.  Add the onion, celery, carrots, and garlic.  Saute for 2-3 minutes.  Add the tomatoes, stock, thyme, ginger, salt, pepper and bay leaf.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 30 minutes.

Discard the bay leaf and slowly whisk in the bread crumbs.  If using fresh tomatoes, in small batches puree the soup in a blender or food processor.  Strain the liquid and return it to the pan.  Stir in the cream and simmer for five minutes.

Serve with your favorite sandwich.

2 comments

  1. I love soup, too, and I wish my husband shared my love for it. I’ll have to store away this recipe for the nights when I’m cooking for myself. I hate to admit it, but sometimes I look forward to those nights. 🙂 Glad Meeshie is feeling better.


  2. I just love tomato soup and so do the boys. When we were growing up, my Mom would make us tomato soup with a half a grilled cheese sandwich on the side. To this day that always sounds so good to me. Glad Meeshie was able to make it to school to exchange Valentines!



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

