h1

Something Fun

February 11, 2012

Last night Meeshie’s girl scout troop got together to work on a badge.  That work involved fondue.  And baking.  How could that be better?  Spending that time with some of the best moms.  I only wish I had remembered my camera.  Thanks Krista, for letting me help out.

Now, we are lovers of fondue at our house.  We have it every New Year’s Eve.  But, I must confess that we stick to beef broth or cheese fondue.  The girls wanted chocolate.

Chocolate fondue, perfect timing for Valentine’s Day.  It’s so easy to make.  The girls had a blast prepping all the food.  And there was tons of it.  That’s the thing about fondue.  It never looks like enough food, but there is.  We had pound cake.  Which the girls also made.  We had them put them in mini paper loaf pans for easy take home.  We had bananas, pineapples, strawberries, rice crispy treats, oranges, pretzel rods, apples, graham crackers and two kinds of marshmallows.

For the cheese fondue, we had bread, tatter tots, apples, pretzel rods, and veggies.  We altered the cheese recipe to include chicken broth instead of the wine.

Let me say that 12 girls may be loud, but they work well together.  They chip in.  They pick up each others slack.  They were split up into two groups to make the pound cake.  They went through the recipe and decided who would do what.  Since Meeshie helps me at home, she designated herself the bartender asking each girl what they wanted to drink.

It was such a great night, that we are already talking about how we can make it even better next year.

Chocolate Fondue

  • 2-10 oz bags of Bittersweet Chocolate (I used Ghirardelli 60% cacao)
  • 2 C Whipping Cream
  • 2 T Vanilla
  • 2 T Frangelico, Amaretto or Bailey’s (optional)

Pour the whipping cream in an electric fondue pot on low.  Bring the cream to a simmer and add the chocolate.  Stir until melted.  Add the vanilla and liqueur (if using).  Dip in!  If the fondue becomes too thick, add more whipping cream to thin.

Dip with:

  • Apples
  • Bananas
  • Strawberries
  • Pound Cake
  • Graham Crackers
  • Oranges
  • Pineapples
  • Pretzel Rods
  • Marshmallows
3 comments

  1. What a fun time! The girls picked wisely – chocolate fondue is delicious!


    • It was! What a great treat for me too. It’s not something I would make for my husband when I do make fondue.
      Karen


  2. This looks so fun! I have the best memories of being a girl scout, I only wish we got together to make fondue! I bet it was a fun evening for them as well as the parents.



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

