h1

Count Down to a Super Sunday

January 30, 2012

Sunday is the big football day.  Not that I’m that invested in it, my favorite team didn’t make it.  And no it’s not the Bears.  I haven’t been a Bears fan since 1987, when the Bears let Otis Wilson go.  I’m a Saints fan.

I thought that I would share some great game day food this week.  I’m starting out with some of my favorite appetizers.  Some of my favorite man friendly appetizers.  A large group of people gathered around a sporting event calls for some great appetizers.

Why not try one of these:

Or maybe this next one.  The crunchy won ton and warm filling are so good together.  I make the filling ahead and prep the won tons ahead as well.  Once people start to arrive, I start to put the filling in the won tons.  Serve them warm, or they’ll get soggy and that’s not good.  If you prep them to be eaten as they come out of the oven, they’ll go quickly.

I’m planning to share some great dips later in the week.  Why do ladies love the dips and men love the finger food?

Sausage Stars

  • 1 lb Cooked Breakfast Sausage, crumbled
  • 1 1/2 C Cheddar Cheese, grated
  • 1 1/2 C Monterey Jack Cheese, grated
  • 1 C Ranch Dressing
  • 1-6 oz can of Black Olives, sliced
  • 1/2 C Red Pepper, chopped
  • 1-package Won Ton Wrappers

After cooking and draining the sausage, combine it with the cheeses, ranch dressing, black olives and red peppers.  Set aside.

Using a brush, lightly grease a mini-muffin tin.  Press a wrapper in each prepared cup.  Bake the won tons for five minutes in a 350 degree oven, or until golden.  Remove from the oven and fill each won ton with sausage filling.  Return to the oven and cook until bubbly, about five minutes.

Serve warm.

Makes about four dozen.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

