h1

Spiced Up Cookies

January 25, 2012

I love a good bargain.  That’s why when I was shopping at Target after Christmas, I came across some cinnamon m&m’s in the sale aisle.  I wasn’t even aware that there were such a thing as cinnamon flavored m&m’s.  Did you?  I bought two bags for the price of one.  I knew exactly what I was going to do with the bag once I had a spare minute.

Make cookies, of course.  Who doesn’t like cookies made with m&m’s?  I finally got around to make these cookies the other day.  I used the basic recipe on the back of a bag of chocolate morsels.  I prefer to use a certain brand of morsels, but use whatever you like.  I chose to add milk chocolate morsels.  I thought they would complement the cinnamon flavor of the m&m’s.  I also thought that adding nutmeg would counteract any artificial flavor from the m&m’s.

I like my cookies chewy, and tend to slightly under cook them.  That way they are still chewy a few days after I’ve backed them, that is if there are any left.

Cinnamon M&M Cookies

  • 1 C Butter
  • 3/4 C Sugar
  • 3/4 C Brown Sugar, packed
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 1/4 C Flour
  • 1 t Baking Soda
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg
  • 1 C Milk Chocolate Chips
  • 1-9.9 oz bag of Cinnamon M & M’s

Combine the flour, salt, baking soda and nutmeg in a medium-sized bowl.  Set aside.

Beat the butter and sugars together.  Add the vanilla and eggs to the butter mixture.  Gradually add the flour mixture to the butter mixture.  Stir in the milk chocolate chips and m&m’s.  Drop the batter onto a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.  Bake in a 375 degree oven for 8 to 10 minutes.  Makes about 4 dozen cookies.

6 comments

  1. I did not know there were cinnamon m & m’s! Yum! These cookies with a glass of milk would hit the spot right now. I’m off to Target (my fav store!) this weekend to find them. Thanks for sharing, Karen!
    Allison


    • Allison-
      I hope you can find them!
      Karen


  2. Cinnamon M&M’s?! Awesome!! I also underbake my cookies too to have them extra soft.


    • Julie-
      Love a soft cookie.
      Karen


  3. I’ve never heard of cinnamon M&Ms, either. I’m sad, because I bet I would have liked them. I’ll have to look for them next Christmas. Smart idea to put them in a cookie.


    • Nicole-
      Keep your eyes open, they may be around the discount aisle!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

