h1

Something Spicy

January 17, 2012

It’s been cold around here lately.  We had snow last week, a little more today and now we are gearing up for some cold weather.  Ah, winter in Chicago.  It’s days like today that makes most Chicagoans smile during the hot, humid summer.  Or at least I do.
A cold day like today makes me want to enjoy a hot dish.  Orange chicken is just that dish.  What I love is that I can control the heat level.  So, even though my husband and I love spicy food, the dish can be less hot for Meeshie.  And let me tell you Meeshie is a big fan of orange chicken.  She’s also a big fan of sweet and sour chicken.
This dish uses the same technique as the sweet and sour chicken:  the egg wash/corn starch dip before the frying.   It’s a messy step but worth it, just make sure to keep one hand dry and one wet, it’ll still be messy but not so bad.  I also prep everything the night before, just like the sweet and sour chicken, to let the sauce soak into the chicken.
The first time I made this, I used 1 T of crushed red pepper.  It was spicy (not too spicy), and Meeshie commented about it but still ate it.  Since then, I’ve made it with less red pepper and she always asks about the heat level.  Once she realizes it isn’t that spicy she digs right in and enjoys!
Orange Chicken
  • 2 Whole Boneless Skinless Chicken Breasts
  • 2 Eggs, beaten
  • 1/2 C plus 2 T Cornstarch
  • 1 C Orange Juice
  • 1 C Water, with 2 T reserved
  • 1 Lemon, juiced and zested
  • 2 T Vinegar
  • 1/2 C Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 t Ground Ginger
  • 1 t Garlic Powder
  • 2 T Soy Sauce
  • 1 t-1 T Crushed Red Pepper, depending on your heat level

Cut the chicken up into chunks, season with salt and pepper.  Dip the chicken in the 1/2 C cornstarch then the eggs.  Fry in a little oil until browned and place in a 9×13 baking dish (I use my Pyrex).  Mix the orange juice, water less the 2 T, vinegar, lemon juice, zest, brown sugar, ginger, garlic and soy sauce together.  Mix the 2 T cornstarch with the 2 T water, mix into the sauce and add the red pepper.

You can then let it sit in the fridge over night or cook immediately.  I usually prep it all and place it in the fridge overnight.

Bake for 30-40 minutes in a 350 degree oven.  Serve with white rice or fried rice.

I’m linked to Ekat’s Kitchen today.

4 comments

  1. Karen, my boys would love this dish! I’m so glad you shared it and I’d probably serve it with some brown rice (although my husband is known for his fried rice) which I love. I like the idea of prepping/marinating the chicken overnight. Now, I have to go take a look at your sweet and sour recipe!
    Allison


    • Allison-
      When I say white rice, I guess I should have said brown. I became a convert a few years ago, but still refer to it as white rice…
      Karen


  2. Yum! I love that you use chicken breast and you bake it. So many recipes suggest pan-frying.

    I co-host a foodie meme, Friday Food Fight. I would love for you to link up and share your Orange Chicken recipe. Hope to see you in the ring!

    http://deniseisrundmt.com/2012/01/20/chicken-salsa-soup/


    • Denise-
      Thank you! I love your chicken salsa soup!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

