h1

Italian Meatballs Revisted

January 4, 2012

I’m reposting this awesome recipe.  We’ve been talking about meatball sandwiches for the last few days.  I’m going to make these this weekend to enjoy.  That way we’ll be ready for the big game too!

I got this great recipe from my girlfriend who in turn got it from her MIL.  Her in-laws owned a restaurant at one time.  These are some serious meatballs.  So easy.  So versatile.  They pack a ton of flavor too.

I actually double this recipe, freeze them and then take out what I need when the mood strikes.

Meeshie loves them with pasta.

Not me.  I love these on a sandwich.  A meatball sandwich, with provolone on a toasted bun.  Heavenly.  The key to keeping them in the bun is to remove a small amount of bread from the bun.  That way the meatballs will stay in the divot in the bun and there won’t be a mess because of a lost meatball.   There will be a mess, but it will be so heavenly!

When I make these, my husband and Meeshie just pluck them off the plate while they drain.

 

 Italian Meatballs

  • 1-½ pound Ground Chuck
  • 1-½ pound Ground Pork
  • 1 C Seasoned Bread Crumbs
  • 3 whole Eggs Beaten
  • 1 t Salt
  • 2 t Fresh Ground Pepper
  • 2 C Grated Imported Romano Or Parmigiano Cheese
  • 1 T Garlic Powder
  • 1 bunch Fresh Parsley, Chopped
  • 5 cloves Fresh Garlic, Minced
  • 1 whole Onion, Chopped
  • 3 T Butter
  • Oil, For Frying

Sauté the fresh garlic and onion in the butter until onion is tender. Add the chopped parsley and sauté for a minute. Turn off the heat and set aside.

In a large bowl, combine the ground chuck, pork, bread crumbs, eggs, salt, pepper, cheese, and garlic powder. Add the sautéed onion mixture and mix everything together by hand.

In a deep skillet, heat about 3 inches of oil. (I actually use my deep fryer for this part. That way I can fry about a dozen meatballs at once.) I use a medium-sized cookie scoop so that the balls are uniform. If you prefer to make them larger, go for it, but I find that the medium size is perfect for sandwiches.  Scoop the mixture into the hot oil frying for about 3-4 minutes a side. The meatballs will be a nice dark golden brown color. Let them drain on a paper towel.

Once they drain and cool, I place them on a cookie sheet to freeze.  I put them in the freezer for about a half an hour or so and then put them in bags.  This way they wont stick together when you’re ready to heat them up.  When ready to eat, place them in your favorite marinara on a low heat. The longer you let them cook the more tender they’ll be.

I’ve served them when we’ve had people over for the Superbowl.  But you don’t have to wait to have friends over to eat these.

3 comments

  1. Karen….yum, meatballs. Double yum for a meatball sub with provolone! You are always one step ahead with making a double batch and freezing. I’ve got to include that in my 2012 menu plan!
    Allison


  2. Yumm…. Have you ever had your meatball sandwich on garlic bread? I love it on garlic bread with peppers and cheese! Yummmmm…
    Happy New Year Karen!


    • Denise-
      We don’t make garlic bread per se. We do add a small amount of butter to the bread and sprinkle it with garlic powder before sticking it in the oven under the broiler to toast. I agree, peppers and cheese really make it extra good!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

