h1

My Cookie Exchange

December 20, 2011

I participated in a cookie exchange at work this week.  I love cookie exchanges.  It’s a great way to share a favorite recipe and get a few new ones in return.  One of the recipes I got in the exchange was melomakarona.  They are by far my favorite Greek cookie.  The spice of the cookie, along with the honey is so heavenly.  I’ve never made them, but that is going to change very soon.

I wanted to post at least one new cookie recipe this week.  First, I finished my baking on Sunday.  Second, I’m sharing my baking this week with co-workers, teachers, family and friends.   Because I’m running out of time, I’m also posting a picture of these melomakaronas that isn’t mine.  I hope that’s okay.  When I do make them, I’ll re-post with my own pictures.

Melomakarona

  • 1/2 C Sugar
  • 2 C Vegetable Oil
  • 2 t Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg
  • 1/2 C Orange Juice
  • Zest from one Orange
  • 7 C Flour
  • 2 C Pecans, finely chopped
  • 2 C Honey
  • 1 Cinnamon Stick
  • 1 C Water
  • 1-2 inch Orange rind (optional)
  • Cinnamon for garnish

Mix the sugar, oil, cinnamon, nutmeg, and orange juice together.  Add the flour and knead, you may need to add additional flour to make the dough workable.  Mix in the pecans, reserving 1/2 C to sprinkle after dipping in honey.  Take a pinch of the dough, roll into a ball and then make them into long ovals.

On a parchment paper lined baking sheet, bake in a preheated 375 degree oven for 35 minutes.

While the cookies are baking, mix the honey, water, orange rind and cinnamon stick in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and allow to simmer for about 10 minutes.  Remove the cinnamon and orang rind. Remove the cookies from the oven, let them cool and dip them in the honey mixture for about a minute.  Use a fork and remove them from the honey mixture, and place them on a cooling rack lined with wax paper.  Sprinkle with the reserved nuts and cinnamon.

Makes 4 dozen.

Warning these are very messy, but very worth it.

Other cookies I made this season:

I made a few more that I won’t have time to share with you until after Christmas.

For Meeshie’s teachers I made mini Blueberry Zucchini Bread and Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread.

One comment

  1. Karen, these sound so good (and worth the mess and effort). I imagine the honey-orange-cinnamon mixture made your whole house smell heavenly while it was on your cook top. I hope you and your family had a wonderful Christmas!!
    Allison



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

