h1

Browned Butter Oatmeal Cookies

December 14, 2011

I don’t know about you, but this time of year really brings out the baker in me.  Not to say that I don’t bake a ton during the year, because I do.  This time of year, however, I really give both of my ovens a work out.  This past Sunday I made five different cookies and some pumpkin bread in mini paper loaf pans.

Even though I’ve made quite a few cookies so far, I’m not done.  I’ll be finishing off my baking this weekend.  I store my treats in the freezer and give them out as gifts.  If I stick them in the freezer, I’m still enjoying all my hard work after the new year.  Not to mention I’m helping myself by not gorging on all the cookies in the pantry.

My husband is a fan of oatmeal cookies and I decided to try something different this year.  Since I’m such a fan of browned butter, I knew I had to give this a try.  This is a recipe I found on the Food Network website.  It’s a perfect twist to an old classic.  The browned butter adds a great flavor to these already wonderful cookies.

Browned Butter Oatmeal Cookies

  • 1 C Butter
  • 3/4 C Brown Sugar
  • 3/4 C Sugar
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 2 Eggs
  • 2 C Flour
  • 3/4 C Oats
  • 3/4 t Baking Soda
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1 t Cinnamon
  • 1/4 t Nutmeg
  • 1 C Raisins (soaked in warm water, for at least 15 minutes)

Brown the butter in a saucepan, set aside.

In a large bowl, beat the eggs, sugars and vanilla.  In a separate bowl, add the flour, oats, baking soda, salt, cinnamon and nutmeg and mix well.  Add the dry ingredients to the egg mixture.  Add the browned butter to the batter, mix well.  Add the raisins and mix by hand.

Bake in a 350 degree oven for 12-15 minutes.

Makes 4 dozen cookies.

3 comments

  1. Karen, these look (and sound) delicious. I remember from a previous post you mentioned browned butter. We’re doing some baking this weekend and I think I have all of the ingredients for these. I also think you have a lemon cookie (?) on your site that I wanted to try. Love your idea about freezing, which equals less going into my mouth!
    Allison


    • Allison-
      Let me know how they work out.
      Karen


  2. […] Welcome to my blog where I ramble about being a mom, making food and other observations « Browned Butter Oatmeal Cookies My Cookie Exchange December 20, 2011 I participated in a cookie exchange at work this […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

