h1

Pefect Finger Food or Main Event

December 8, 2011

I have a recipe for an appetizer that I’ve been making forever.  So long in fact that I don’t remember where I got it, much less what to call it.  It’s also a perfect entrée.  Do you have a recipe like that?  One that you can easily transition from side dish to main dish?

I think the reason that it’s so popular is because it’s a perfect finger food.  I mean that it’s a perfect finger food to serve a room full of hungry men.  Don’t get me wrong, ladies love it too.  And did I mention that it transitions into a great entrée?

This recipe uses Pillsbury crescent rolls and I make one tube of rolls per meat choice when I’m serving it to a crowd as an appetizer.  I’ve scaled it back so you can use it as a meal instead.  When I was first given this recipe, I was putting the sauce inside the crescent roll.  I stopped doing that because the process can become very messy and it’s hard to seal the rolls.  I like serving the sauce on the side much better.

I love that the combination for this is as endless as your imagination or what you have in your fridge.  You can make ham and swiss; chicken and cheddar, roast beef and mozzarella.  I’ve even made this with a combination of cheeses and left out the meat.  Don’t be afraid to try your favorite lunch meat with your favorite cheese.

When I make it for an entrée, I serve it with soup or chili.  Then I’ll give the leftover to Meeshie to enjoy in her lunch.  And that’s another thing I love about these.  They are a hot dish, but the still taste good if they been out of the oven for a while, perfect for a large get together.  Let’s face it, this time of year we are always looking for a dish like that.

Mini Sammies

  • 1 package Pillsbury Crescent Rolls
  • 1/2 C of your favorite lunch meat: turkey, ham or roast beef
  • 1/2 C of shredded cheese to accompany the lunch meat: cheddar, swiss, mozzarella
  • 1/4 C Green Onion, diced
  • 1 T Butter, melted
  • Sesame Seed, for garnish
  • Barbecue Sauce, for dipping
  • Mustard, for dipping
  • Ketchup, for dipping

Take the crescent rolls out of the tube, separate them and flatten the triangles on your work surface.  I find that if you flatten the crescents, it will give you a larger area of dough thereby making it easier to stuff.  Place a small amount (about 2 T) of meat, a small amount (1/2 T) of green onion, and a small amount (about 1 T) of cheese in the widest part of the crescent.  (You want enough filling in each to enjoy the sandwich, but not so much that you can’t get the sides together to seal.)  Take the sides and close the crescent, making sure to seal completely.   Place the sandwich on a parchment lined cookie sheet.  Brush the sandwiches with melted butter and sprinkle with sesame seeds.  Bake for 12-15 minutes in a 375 degrees oven.

Serve with barbecue sauce, mustard and ketchup.  Makes 8 mini sandwiches per roll.

3 comments

  1. […] Pefect Finger Food or Main Event […]


  2. Merry christmas and happy new year

    more info visit :finger food brisbane party event…….


  3. […] Mini Crescent Sammies […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

