h1

Parker House Rolls

November 26, 2011

I wanted to try some different rolls this year for Thanksgiving.  I love making bread.  There’s something about working with the flour and yeast that makes me happy.  These rolls are simple to make.  They’re perfect side to any meal.  They’re also a perfect size for a little sandwich.  Are you wondering what to do with your leftover turkey?  How about a little sandwich with these rolls?

I made two batches of these rolls for Thanksgiving.  I gave the handful away to my sister and her family.  My nephew loved them.

I made another batch yesterday afternoon, just in time to have mini sandwiches of leftover turkey and ham.  My husband may request the mini sandwiches again today for lunch.  I may use my Panini press to make hot sandwiches.  How about a nice ham sandwich with mustard, swiss cheese and pickles?  Or would you rather have a turkey sandwich with mayo, red onion, salt and pepper?

The great thing about these rolls is that you can start them a few days ahead, just make sure they are covered well with Saran.  I actually made the dough, prepped them and put them in the fridge on Monday night.  Thursday morning I took them out of the fridge and let them sit out until they got room temperature.  Then about a half an hour before mealtime, I melted my butter and then put them in the oven.  I actually used only 2 T of butter for the doubled batch, so if you only make one batch you may want to adjust the butter.  I also made sure to rotate my pan half way through the baking process.

Parker House Rolls

  • 3 T Warm Water (110 degrees)
  • 3 T Sugar, divided
  • 1 package Active Dry Yeast
  • 1/2 C Butter, divided
  • 1 C Milk
  • 2 3/4-3 1/2 C Flour, divided
  • 1 1/2 t Salt

In a sauce pan, melt 6 T of butter.  Add the milk and heat until lukewarm.  Set aside.

In a small bowl, stir together water, 1 T sugar and yeast.  Let stand until foamy, about five minutes.

In a large bowl, combine the remaining sugar, 2 C of flour and salt.  Add the yeast mixture to the milk mixture and then add to the flour mixture.  Use a rubber spatula or wooden spoon to combine the dough.  Dump about 3/4 C of flour onto a clean work surface and scrape the dough onto the flour.  Work the flour into the dough.  If your dough is too sticky, add up to 1/2 C more flour slowly until the dough is just slightly sticky.

Knead the dough until smooth and elastic, about 5-8 minutes.  Form the dough into a ball and place in a large, buttered bowl.  Make sure to turn the dough in the bowl to coat, cover with Saran and let rise in a warm, draft free place for about an hour.

Once the dough has doubled in size, divide the dough into 20 equal pieces.  Roll each piece into a ball and arrange on a buttered 9×13 pan.  Cover loosely with Saran and let rise again for about 45 minutes.  Using a floured bamboo skewer, or chopstick, make a deep crease down the center of each row of rolls.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and place them in the center of the oven.  Melt the remaining butter and brush the tops of the rolls.  Bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.

You can reheat the leftover rolls in foil in a 350 degree oven.

Here’s the original.

2 comments

  1. Hi, Karen! Congrats on being featured on Tasty Kitchen! I love making bread, too, and delighted to try this Parker House Rolls! Looking forward to getting to know you better via TK and your lovely site. 🙂



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

