h1

Thanks for Pie

November 23, 2011

Do you make pie for Thanksgiving?  Do you go traditional?

My husband asked that I make pecan pie this year for Thanksgiving.  I’ve never made one before.  I’m not a fan of pecan pie.  I love pecans, but usually pecan pie tastes to eggy for me.  I want to taste pecan when I eat pecan pie and I don’t think I’m alone.

When my husband made the request, I remembered that my friend Cathy made pecan pie last year for Thanksgiving and we had a similar conversation  regarding the over powering flavor of egg.  She found a recipe that had only three eggs and a little bit of chocolate.  I sampled it and loved it.  So when my husband made his request, I knew that I would be making that pie.

I’ve been off all week, prepping for Thursday.  This morning, I made the pecan pie.  Right now, I’m making pumpkin butter pie.  This will free me up to make kolaczky tomorrow morning.  I think I make the whole spread with the turkey and sides just to eat all of these great treats.

Pecan Chocolate Bourbon Pie

  • 1 Pie Crust
  • 1 1/2 C Pecan halves
  • 1/2 C Semisweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 1/2 T Flour, divided
  • 3 Eggs, beaten
  • 1 C Brown Sugar, packed
  • 1 C Light Corn Syrup
  • 1 t Vanilla extract
  • 1/4 C Butter, melted
  • 3 T Bourbon

Spread pecans on the crust.  In a small bowl, toss chocolate chips in 1/2 T of flour to coat.  Spread the coated chocolate chips over the pecans.  In a medium bowl, stir together eggs, brown sugar, corn syrup, vanilla, butter, bourbon, and flour until well combined.  Pour the filling over the chocolate and pecans.

Bake until filling is set and crust is brown, about 70 minutes in a 375 degree oven.  Keep on eye on the pie and if the crust browns too quickly, tent it loosely with foil.

Remove from oven and let cool for at least 1 hour.

Happy Thanksgiving!!

linked: Ekat’s Kitchen

2 comments

  1. I’m not a fan of pecan pie either, for the same reasons. I found a terrific recipe for Pecan Pie Bars a few years ago, and they are fantastic. I’ll email it to you.


    • Kathy-
      Thanks I would love them. If you try the pie, let me know. Have a happy Thanksgiving!
      Karen



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

