h1

Savory Scones

November 17, 2011

I love savory things.  There’s something about a baked good that is slightly salty.  Or is it just that this has bacon?  Either way, there is something about these scones that put a smile on my face.  I made them to accompany soup, but they are just fine by themselves.  As a matter of fact, I stick them in the freezer to enjoy as a little treat.

The original recipe calls for Gruyère, but I had a big block of Jarlsberg (I buy it at Costco) and used that instead.  It’s the bacon, cheese combo that makes these so good.  And then there’s that hint of green onion.  Yum!

You could serve them with butter or honey, but I really think they are a stand alone thing.  They would be a perfect side to your Thanksgiving meal, too.

Bacon, Cheese and Green Onion Scones

  • 2 C Flour
  • 2 T Sugar
  • 1 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Baking Soda
  • 1 t Salt
  • 1/2 C Butter, cold and cut into small cubes
  • 4 strips Bacon, cooked and crumbled
  • 2/3 C Jarlsberg Cheese, grated
  • 2 Green Onion, sliced
  • 1 t Pepper
  • 1/2 C Buttermilk
  • 1/4 C Half and Half

In a large bowl, sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Cut the butter into the flour mixture until incorporated into a mealy mixture.  Add the cheese, bacon, onion and pepper to the dough and mix together until combined.  Fold in the buttermilk, mix until combined, and form the dough into a disc about 1/2 inch thick and place in the fridge for about 30 minutes.  Once chilled, use a cookie cutter to cut the scones into either circles or diamonds.   Place the scones on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and brush the tops with some cream or half and half.  Bake for 20-25 minutes in a 375 degree oven or until the scones puff up and start to brown.

Makes about one dozen.

One comment

  1. Hi Karen – The bacon-cheese combo sounds wonderful. I love that you replaced the gruyere with Jarlsberg…I don’t think I would have thought of that. My husband would heap them with butter, but I’d eat one (or two) just warm from the oven.
    Allison



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

