h1

Pecan Maple Cookies

November 13, 2011

I’m sure that you are aware by now that I love to bake.  Wether it’s a cake, pie, bread, or cookie or anything in between, I enjoy making it.  I especially love cookies.  It maybe because they are so portable.  Or is it because most people start out baking chocolate chip cookies?

I have a secret to confess, though.  I have a love hate relationship with the rolled cookie.  You know what I mean, those cookies that use a cookie cutter.   I love them because they are so pretty.  I hate them because the cookie cutter can be problematic depending on its style.  I also have issues with decorating the cookies.  I can never get them to look professional.

I found this recipe in the October issue of Good Housekeeping.  It caught my eye because of the maple flavor.  We’ve been to Toronto and each time we go we always come back with maple cookies.  The cookies are sold everywhere for tourists to enjoy.  We love them.  I thought that these may taste like them.  They don’t, but they have a great toasted pecan flavor.  I used a maple cookie cutter, but they can be shaped however you like.  These will be added to my Christmas cookie list for sure!

Maple Pecan Cookies

  • 2 1/2 C Flour
  • 1/4 t Salt
  • 1 C Butter, softened
  • 1/3 C Sugar
  • 1/3 C Brown Sugar
  • 2 T Maple Syrup
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 3/4 C Pecans
  • Decorating:
  • Maple Syrup
  • Sanding Sugar

In a saute pan, toast the pecans until dark brown, keep an eye on them to ensure they don’t burn.  Remove from the heat, let cool and finely chop.

In a medium-sized bowl, mix the flour and the salt.

In a large bowl, cream the butter and add the sugars until blended.  Scrape the sides of the bowl.  Add the syrup and vanilla and beat until mixed.  Scrape the sides of the bowl.  Slowly add the flour mixture.  Beat until mixed.  Scrape the sides of the bowl.  Slowly add the pecans. Beat until mixed.  The dough will be slightly dry for a rolled cookie.

Divide the dough in half and wrap in Saran.  Place in the refrigerator for at least an hour.  Remove from the refrigerator and allow the dough sit out until it is of a consistency to roll.

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheets with parchment paper.

Roll out one of the doughs to about 1/4 inch thick and cut into shapes.  Place the cookies on the prepared cookie sheets, about one-inch apart.

Bake for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown.  While the cookies are still warm, spread a small amount of syrup on them.  (I used less than a 1/4 t per cookie and used the back of a spoon to spread the syrup).  Sprinkle with dusting sugar, if desired and allow the cookies to cool completely on a cooling rack.

Makes about 2 1/2 to 4 1/2 dozen cookies, depending on the size of your cookie cutter.

Check out: Ekat’s Kitchen Potluck

5 comments

  1. Hi Karen! The maple cookies look so pretty. I have two questions: Do you use real maple syrup for these or can you use a pancake syrup? Also, where do you buy sanding sugar (baking supplies store or just baking section of grocery store)? I’ve read other recipes that call for it and I’m not quite sure where to pick it up.
    Thanks,
    Allison


    • Allison-
      I used maple syrup because I had it, but pancake syrup would be fine. I buy my sanding sugar at: Crate and Barrel and the Wilton Store. They sell Wilton products almost anywhere: Michael’s, Target… Don’t stress about it, just buy the colored sugar in the baking aisle.
      Karen


  2. These look delish! Maple syrup can be expensive, but I’ve found some at Aldi for a fairly reasonable price in the past.


    • Kathy-
      They didn’t even last two days in the house. The hint of maple complements the toasted pecan flavor. I may make them again this weekend if I have time…
      Karen


  3. […] Pecan Maple Cookies (I shaped them like stars with silver dusting sugar) […]



Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

