h1

Tis the Season for More Soup

November 9, 2011

I’m sharing another wonderful soup today.  I think it’s the weather.  The last few days have been gloomy.  I think the time change doesn’t help either.  I’m not a fan of the this time of year.  It gets dark so early and the weather starts get cold quickly.  The weather man talked about a chance of flurries today, although I don’t think that’s going to happen.  Regardless, this is the time of year when I yearn for those warm fall days in early October, or those longer spring days in May.

This is a simple potato soup that marries garlic and potato.  And although I love the garlic soup, this one is a great one too.  It’s actually a little heartier because of the potatoes, onions and carrots.

I don’t remember where I found this recipe, I do know that it has been in my binder forever waiting for me to make it.

Roasted Garlic Potato Soup

  • 5 Whole Heads of Garlic
  • 1 C Onion, diced
  • 1 C Carrots, diced
  • 2 T Olive Oil
  • 6 C Baking Potatoes, diced (you can leave the skin on or peel them, whatever you like)
  • 4 C Chicken Broth
  • 1 C Milk
  • 1 Bay Leaf
  • Salt and Pepper to taste

Wrap each head of garlic in aluminum foil and bake in a 350 degree oven for one hour.  Let cool for 10 minutes, separate the cloves and squeeze to extract the garlic pulp.

While the garlic is cooking place the onion and carrot in olive oil into a large pot and saute for about 5 minutes.  Add the potato, chicken broth, salt and pepper and bay leaf and bring to a boil.  Cover, reduce heat and simmer for about 20 minutes or until the potatoes are tender.  Remove the bay left.  Combine the garlic pulp and 2 C of the potato soup in a blender or food processor and blend until smooth.  Make sure to cover the blender with a towel as the hot liquid tends to shoot out when blended.  Return the puree to the pot, add the milk, and cook over low heat until thoroughly heated.

Serve with your favorite bread or sandwich.

Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing feedback!

